Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
terrance101
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 17, 2013 7:59 am
Contact:

veeamzip image metadata issue

Post by terrance101 » Nov 04, 2013 2:24 pm

Hi guys
just wondering how I can transport vmware image across the pond. I created with veeamzip image directly onto a nas station, then I tested it by restoring it to vmware host and it worked just fine. Now our connection can go down some time so I can't rely on a single pass of 1 43GB file in case it falls over so I had to split it. I used hjsplit to split it up on one side, transferred the image in pieces over a week across to the new site and reassembled it there. The resulting was exactly the same size to the byte on the new site yet when I try to use veeam to restore the image by double clicking on it, it reads through it then eventually comes up with a message about the metadata possibly being corrupt. Anyone else come across this and if so what is the recommended method of getting such a large across in pieces to a new site?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24416
Liked: 3402 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: veeamzip image metadata issue

Post by Gostev » Nov 04, 2013 7:08 pm

Hi,

This looks to be either an issue with hjsplit, or network traffic corruption during the actual transfer. You can calculate a checksum of both source and target file with this tool to confirm this.

As far as transfers over unreliable links, it is best to use Backup Copy job for this. Backup Copy jobs will withstand to both short connection drops and network traffic corruption (thanks to built-in traffic validation and remediation).

Thanks!

terrance101
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 17, 2013 7:59 am
Contact:

Re: veeamzip image metadata issue

Post by terrance101 » Nov 05, 2013 3:07 pm

So I was thinking about this and I can't keep the server down for the amount of time it would take to transfer the machine. So I was thinking as a solution (for those that comes across this thread in future)... I am going to veeamzip it off locally so it's not necessary to shut it down, then import locally back to the same vmware host and get it seperated off to a localised virtual switch with no nic's attached to it (to make sure it doesn't conflict with the old version of the server), then run the backup across the pond and limit the throughput at the proxies to it doesn't saturate the network bandwidth.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24416
Liked: 3402 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: veeamzip image metadata issue

Post by Gostev » Nov 05, 2013 7:17 pm

Not sure I follow. Why do you need to keep the server down for the amount of time it would take to transfer the machine?

terrance101
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 17, 2013 7:59 am
Contact:

Re: veeamzip image metadata issue

Post by terrance101 » Nov 06, 2013 12:00 pm

Because the machine needs to be offline when running a veeam backup doesn't it?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18021
Liked: 1530 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: veeamzip image metadata issue

Post by foggy » Nov 06, 2013 12:39 pm

No, Veeam backs up running VMs.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests