Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
b.vanhaastrecht
Service Provider
Posts: 574
Liked: 99 times
Joined: Aug 26, 2013 7:46 am
Full Name: Bastiaan van Haastrecht
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Virtual Lab and VM IP

Post by b.vanhaastrecht » Sep 24, 2014 12:15 pm

Hi all,

We've setup a Virtual Lab with proxy, it's configured with three networks, DHCP is disabled on all networks. When a VM boots within the vLab, we notice a vNIC is being removed and added. Looking in the OS this new NIC does not get an IP set.
- Why is the vNIC being removed and added, the vNIC and it's corresponding IP configuration allready resides in the VM? (Wouldnt a portgroup change make re-adding unnecessary.)
- Should it get a fixed IP configured? (If so, which process should set the IP, where can I troubleshout it?)

Regards,
Bastiaan
========================================
Veeam ProPartner and Cloud Connect Provider

nefes
Veeam Software
Posts: 637
Liked: 160 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes
Contact:

Re: Virtual Lab and VM IP

Post by nefes » Sep 24, 2014 1:29 pm

I suppose you have vmxnet3 adapter on that vm? If so, this KB should help: http://www.veeam.com/kb1570

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests