Virtual Lab Deletion - Possible Bug?

VMware specific discussions

Virtual Lab Deletion - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby ferrus » Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:43 pm

I've just started testing out Virtual Labs again, and think I may have come across a bug.
Almost no experience with it - so point out if I'm mistaken, or doing something wrong!

Create a Virtual Lab, with a corresponding VM folder
Create a second Virtual Lab, using the same VM folder name
(the GUI specifies 'Create a VM folder' - but surely the whole point of VM folders is to organize and collate similar objects?)
Delete the first Virtual Lab

When you choose to remove objects from the host, it removes the vSwitch Port Group, Proxy Appliance - but also the VM folder.
The vSwitch and Port Group from the second Virtual Lab are left - but the second Proxy Appliance is removed (at least from the GUI), along with the parent VM folder.

Would it not be better to have a check if the folder is empty, before deletion?
ferrus
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 147
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 3:41 pm
Location: UK

Re: Virtual Lab Deletion - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby ferrus » Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:50 pm

Now, when I try to get to the Properties of the Second Virtual Lab - I get an error: 'Cannot find VM with moRef vm-######'
ferrus
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 147
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 3:41 pm
Location: UK

Re: Virtual Lab Deletion - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jan 06, 2017 3:46 pm

I guess that's an expected behavior, when a Virtual Lab is removed all its files are also cleaned up. Can you try to create a root VM folder and then place individual virtual labs folders in that one for better management?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19945
Liked: 1144 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Virtual Lab Deletion - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby JoshuaPostSAMC » Fri Jan 06, 2017 3:51 pm

I've just created a folder for "Virtual Lab 1" and another folder for "Virtual Lab 2".

Yes, they are performing the same function, but they are separate instances. I enjoy being able to look at just my "Virtual Lab 1" folder and see what VMs are currently registered to it, as sometimes an orphan gets left behind.
JoshuaPostSAMC
Expert
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Virtual Lab Deletion - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:01 pm

Yes, different names would work. I guess ferrus just pointed his second Virtual Lab to the existing VL folder which caused that issue.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19945
Liked: 1144 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Virtual Lab Deletion - Possible Bug?

Veeam Logoby ferrus » Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:02 pm

Yeah - that's probably the best workaround.
The VM folder path isn't browse-able though - it's a text field.
Might test if it allows nested folders with a '\' character - otherwise it'll be a separate top-level folder per VL
ferrus
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 147
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 3:41 pm
Location: UK


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 1 guest