Virtual Lab failing ping, appliance/guest can ping eachother

VMware specific discussions

Virtual Lab failing ping, appliance/guest can ping eachother

Veeam Logoby nullifi » Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:32 pm

I am finally getting around to setting up the virtual lab, and my jobs are failing at the first application group to get the DC up.

It says it is failing the ping test, yet I can go into the console view of both the DC and the virtual lab appliance and I can ping each other. When the job is trying a ping test, who is pinging who? I thought it would be the virtual lab appliance pinging the VM.
nullifi
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2015 1:41 pm
Full Name: Jason Taylor

Re: Virtual Lab failing ping, appliance/guest can ping eacho

Veeam Logoby kawiMTF » Wed Sep 07, 2016 6:19 am

Hi Jason,

I had the same problem when i did my first steps with SureBackup and Veeam virtual labs.

In my case the problem was the virtual appliance which had a wrong IP address. I recently wrote a blog post about it (german language):
https://www.driftar.ch/2016/06/06/veeam ... eshooting/

But you can find the hints also in the Veeam helpcenter:
https://www.veeam.com/kb1067

The isolated NIC within the Virtual Lab configuration has to have the gateway address (router / firewall whatever in your network).
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl
kawiMTF
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 116
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Karl Widmer

Re: Virtual Lab failing ping, appliance/guest can ping eacho

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:54 am

Ping requests are sent from the Veeam B&R backup server. Are you able to ping VMs from it?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Virtual Lab failing ping, appliance/guest can ping eacho

Veeam Logoby nullifi » Wed Sep 07, 2016 2:13 pm

Ah, that's probably it, I cannot.
nullifi
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2015 1:41 pm
Full Name: Jason Taylor

Re: Virtual Lab failing ping, appliance/guest can ping eacho

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Sep 07, 2016 2:27 pm

Then please check the KB mentioned by Karl above for possible reasons.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Virtual Lab failing ping, appliance/guest can ping eacho

Veeam Logoby Zew » Wed Sep 07, 2016 7:21 pm

I hope you don't plan on having too many VM's in this test enviro... I've tested it with not so great results. I found after around 3 VM's the timeouts needed to be adjusted as the time it took for these VM's to boot increases as:

1) Each VM has to be "re-hydrated" from their backup files, the more incremental it has to dig through the longer it can take.

2) I/O gets tight the more VM's spin up (I'm not 100% sure how I/O is exactly distributed as Reads are done R/O mode, and Write occur at the PowerNFS mount point, so this really plays a key part).
Zew
Expert
 
Posts: 173
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:50 pm
Full Name: Aemilianus Kehler

Re: Virtual Lab failing ping, appliance/guest can ping eacho

Veeam Logoby lukejf » Thu Sep 08, 2016 1:57 am

Hey Guys, are others having issues with the firewall on domain controllers being set to a public profile? I have checked and not running the vmware adapter mentioned above. I believe this may have something to do with not using the internet gateway proxy option.( read it somewhere on here) The issue is I can't use this as we have services on this server that cannot be connect to the internet as it will cause issues with AV and motoring software. Any ideas
lukejf
Service Provider
 
Posts: 40
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:15 am
Full Name: Luke

Re: Virtual Lab failing ping, appliance/guest can ping eacho

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Sep 08, 2016 11:56 am 1 person likes this post

Zew wrote:2) I/O gets tight the more VM's spin up (I'm not 100% sure how I/O is exactly distributed as Reads are done R/O mode, and Write occur at the PowerNFS mount point, so this really plays a key part).

The more important fact is that reads are random, so the backup storage random read performance matters here.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 22 guests