Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
benwaynet
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 15, 2009 5:27 pm
Full Name: Jason Benway
Location: West Michigan
Contact:

virtual lab networking

Post by benwaynet »

I can't seem to get the networking right to spin up a virtual lab.

I can't even ping the proxy appliance. It has a IP of 172.18.5.27 which is on the production side. I have other servers on that network and I can ping them from the veeam sever and my workstation, both the veeam server and my workstations are on different subnets as the proxy appliance.

Should be able to ping from other networks?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: virtual lab networking

Post by Gostev »

If you have routing setup correctly on your production network, then yes of course.

Cokovic
Expert
Posts: 295
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 8:45 am
Full Name: Haris Cokovic
Contact:

Re: virtual lab networking

Post by Cokovic »

We had a similar issue with our network here. In our case it was a routing issue cause of the many networks and vlans we got. Our solution was to place the proxy appliance in the same subnet and vlan as the Veeam Server where we setup the virtual lab. Now it works like a charm.

Is there a firewall between your networks?
Did you check your routing with traceroute to see if this causes your problem?

monkeymagic79
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 29, 2009 11:15 am
Full Name: Dan Mulliss
Contact:

Re: virtual lab networking

Post by monkeymagic79 »

We had the same issues and we had to put the proxy appliance in the same network as the Veeam backup server also to fix the issue.

JohnGoss
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 18, 2012 3:37 pm
Full Name: John Goss
Contact:

Re: virtual lab networking

Post by JohnGoss »

I found the first time I needed to login to the proxy appliance and ping an IP outside of the local network (e.g. my production DNS server). The router then learned of the device and I could then ping the proxy appliance from my production network.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests