Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42

VMware specific discussions

Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42

Veeam Logoby emachabert » Mon Mar 05, 2012 1:28 pm

Hi everyone,

I'am installing Veeam B&R 6 patch3 and I have an issue when attempting a resore since Veeam can't mount the NFS datastore because VMWare vSphere 5 does not accept a volume name that is larger than 42 characters.
I can't reduce my domain name length (server name + TLB = 35 characters), so how can I tell veeam to use it's IP adress instead of it's dns name for the vPowerNFS mount ?

Thank you.
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 163 times
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Location: France
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42

Veeam Logoby emachabert » Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:15 pm

Answered to myself, I removed the server that had been added with the FQDN and then I re-added it with it's short name.

Now able to restore.
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 163 times
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Location: France
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42

Veeam Logoby Cokovic » Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:23 pm

Great forum with self healing effects ;)
Cokovic
Expert
 
Posts: 295
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 8:45 am
Full Name: Haris Cokovic

Re: Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42

Veeam Logoby emachabert » Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:24 pm

Yeah, that's why I love Veeam, problems

By the way, this limitation is not clearly mentionned and should be stated in the FAQ, as it could save time to many users ;-)
Don't you think ?
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 163 times
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Location: France
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:12 pm

FAQ stands for frequently asked questions... this one only came up once in 5 years ;)
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42

Veeam Logoby emachabert » Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:23 am

So I suggest you open the RAQ (Rarely Asked Questions) :D :D :D
Veeamizing your IT since 2009/ Vanguard 2015,2016,2017
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 163 times
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:42 am
Location: France
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42

Veeam Logoby azc » Thu Aug 01, 2013 9:13 am

Sorry to dig up an old thread, but I'm having the same issue. Trying to restore guest O/S files from a Linux server and it's failing because of this too short / too long problem.

Veeam says:
Image
01/08/2013 09:46:26 Multi-OS File Level Restore started
01/08/2013 09:47:04 Fail Failed to mount vPower NFS datastore to host "ccesx05.cirencester.local" Error: Unable to mount vPower NFS volume (CCBACKUPPROX01.cirencester.local:/VeeamBackup_CCBACKUPPROX01.cirencester.local). CCBACKUPPROX01.cirencester.local: An error occurred during host configuration.
10.10.242.15: An error occurred during host configuration.
01/08/2013 09:47:04 Fail Unknown failure Error: Unable to mount vPower NFS volume (CCBACKUPPROX01.cirencester.local:/VeeamBackup_CCBACKUPPROX01.cirencester.local). CCBACKUPPROX01.cirencester.local: An error occurred during host configuration.
10.10.242.15: An error occurred during host configuration.

vCenter says:
Image
Operation failed, diagnostics report: Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42 characters


I guess it's choking on the name "CCBACKUPPROX01.cirencester.local:/VeeamBackup_CCBACKUPPROX01.cirencester.local". CCBACKUPPROX01 is our Veeam Backup Proxy server that talks to the repository.

Can anyone help please? Not sure how I can fix this.

Thank you.
Andrew
azc
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 2:28 pm
Full Name: Andrew Carpenter

Re: Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:39 am

Andrew, have you tried to add that server to Veeam B&R console using its short DNS name or IP address? In this case the vPowerNFS datastore name will be like VeeamBackup_CCBACKUPPROX01, without domain and suffix, which is much shorter.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1077 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:27 am

Another option is to change the server's display name directly in the SQL database using the following script:

Code: Select all
$server = Get-VBRServer | ?{$_.name -eq "name of proxy"}
$server.SetName("Newname of proxy")

This is what our support usually advises to do in such cases.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1077 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42

Veeam Logoby azc » Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:04 am 3 people like this post

Hi foggy, thanks for responding.

Using your clues I was able to resolve the problem. For anyone coming to this thread in search of the solution, here's a summary what I did:

I added a new backup proxy using the short name of the backup proxy server (ccbackupprox01 instead of ccbackupprox01.cirencester.local). I then removed the other backup proxy from the list. Next I edited the backup repository. Go to the vPower NFS section, and ensure the correct backup proxy (with the short name) is selected from the drop-down list.

After making those changes I verified backups could still run successfully. I then tested whether the Guest Files (Other OS) restore would now work, which it did.

If your backup jobs are set to use a specific backup proxy, you'll need to edit those. Mine were all set to automatic, so I didn't need to change them.

Thanks again.

Andrew
azc
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 2:28 pm
Full Name: Andrew Carpenter

Re: Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:41 am

Andrew, thanks for updating the thread. Glad you've resolved the issue successfully.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1077 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] fqdn instead of netbios name in NFS mount

Veeam Logoby LeoKurz » Thu Mar 17, 2016 2:07 pm

Hi,

when I trigger instant recovery, the fqdn is used in the name/folder of the NFS mount. As the fqdn is pretty long, it's even truncaded with an "_". It works all right but I'd preffer the "official" naming. Any idea where to configure/change this or what went wrong?

Cheers
__Leo
LeoKurz
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Leonhard Kurz

Re: Volume Label is too long/short, limit is 1 to 42

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Mar 17, 2016 3:24 pm

Leo, you can re-add the corresponding server using its short name to Veeam B&R console.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1077 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 15 guests