vSAN with fault tolerance (FTT) = 1

VMware specific discussions

vSAN with fault tolerance (FTT) = 1

Veeam Logoby john.wood » Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:46 pm

Wanted to put this out to the forum to see if anyone else is having a similar issue.

Setup
vSphere 6.0 + vSan 6.2
FTT value = 1

I have a VM with 1x70gb disk, usage is 50% (35GB used)
with FTT = 1 the VMDK = 143gb in size.

Veeam shows the VM at 140gb, the backup size is 72gb in size.

Given Veeam's inline dedup and compression I would have thought it would look at the VMDK with a large amount of duplication spread across the vSAN.
Why would it require 72gb when only 35gb is actually used?

Thanks John.
VMCE
john.wood
Service Provider
 
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:00 pm

Re: vSAN with fault tolerance (FTT) = 1

Veeam Logoby bhagen » Thu Aug 10, 2017 4:27 pm

I'm in a similar position and interested in this as well, so subscribing to this thread!
bhagen
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:26 pm

Re: vSAN with fault tolerance (FTT) = 1

Veeam Logoby john.wood » Fri Aug 11, 2017 1:50 am

I've since raised a case : 02277676
VMCE
john.wood
Service Provider
 
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:00 pm

Re: vSAN with fault tolerance (FTT) = 1

Veeam Logoby bhagen » Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:52 pm 1 person likes this post

I'd love to hear the outcome; would you mind posting a summary here when the ticket is resolved?
bhagen
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:26 pm

Re: vSAN with fault tolerance (FTT) = 1

Veeam Logoby john.wood » Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:32 pm

The support tech said that he'd only ever seen one other instance like this before.
Veeam don't have a root cause or any documentation as to why its happening.

The thought was there is a "glitch" when reading the VM in the database.

Resolution:
Move the backup (and/or) copy job files to another location.
Remove the backup from configuration in Veeam.
Start a new chain and manually age out old backups.

Conclusion:
Not an ideal outcome to have to re-start the chain. Our customers are charged on the $/gb of vbk's & vib's.
So when a server is twice the size and they pay double they are not very impressed as you can imagine.
VMCE
john.wood
Service Provider
 
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:00 pm

Re: vSAN with fault tolerance (FTT) = 1

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Aug 16, 2017 4:01 pm

Hi John, are you saying that restarting the chain fixed the sizing issue? We're not able to reproduce this in or lab, the FTT VM shows its actual size and the backup size also reflects the size of a single VM, just like for an ordinary VM without FTT. Could be some database glitch, indeed. We're trying to check on vSAN right now.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14904
Liked: 1096 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: vSAN with fault tolerance (FTT) = 1

Veeam Logoby john.wood » Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:49 am

Thanks Foggy,
Appreciate the follow up.
I'm in a bit of a sticky situation.

My customers are not very understanding and now questioning all of the backup data costs, due to this one instance.
At this stage I have to say its a "glitch" which we are unable to pinpoint and no way of identifying if it will happen again.

Happy to provide more logs or information on the case if you need it.

Cheers
VMCE
john.wood
Service Provider
 
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:00 pm


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 10 guests