Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
stanthewizzard
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 09, 2012 8:16 am
Full Name: Stan
Contact:

vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by stanthewizzard » Sep 11, 2015 6:12 am

Hello

Is Veeam compatible with those two ?

Thanks

flakpyro
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2010 10:15 pm
Full Name: David M
Contact:

Re: VMware vSphere 6.0 support

Post by flakpyro » Sep 11, 2015 10:44 pm 3 people like this post

Patched to vCenter and ESXi 6.0 Update 1 today and was unable to run any Veeam jobs until i re-enabled SSLv3 on port 902 on my ESXi hosts as per

http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micros ... Id=2121021

Veeam logs contained

Code: Select all

[11.09.2015 14:32:55] <  3016>      ERR |SSL error, code: [336151568].error:14094410:SSL routines:SSL3_READ_BYTES:sslv3 alert handshake failure
[11.09.2015 14:32:55] <  3016>      >>  |SSL_connect() function call has failed.
[11.09.2015 14:32:55] <  3016>      >>  |Failed to establish connection with the SSL server.
[11.09.2015 14:32:55] <  3016>      >>  |Cannot initialize new SSL connection.
[11.09.2015 14:32:55] <  3016>      >>  |Authd handshake has failed.
and the console showed

Code: Select all

NFC storage connection is unavailable. Storage: [stg:datastore-636373,nfchost:host-329656
Failed to create NFC download stream. NFC path: [nfc://path].

After enabling SSLv3 on the esxi hosts backups run as they did before the update to 6.0 Update 1.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 286
Liked: 17 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by jamerson » Sep 12, 2015 9:52 am

didn't want to update the host yet.
people who did, is VEEAM working fine with the new 6.0U1 ?

albatorsk
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 12, 2015 2:23 pm
Full Name: Per Larsson
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by albatorsk » Sep 12, 2015 2:32 pm

I has the same problem after upgrading to 6.0u1 as flakypro, but the issue was resolved by enabling SSLv3 again.

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22995
Liked: 2890 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by Gostev » Sep 12, 2015 7:16 pm

jamerson wrote:people who did, is VEEAM working fine with the new 6.0U1 ?
I know we have also updated our QC labs with vSphere 6.0 U1 on Friday as well, but I did not hear anything bad from QC yet. However, it's possible that they have upgraded, armed the auto-tests to run over the weekend, and left home (or to the bar). In any case, I will know this for sure on Monday.

stanthewizzard
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 09, 2012 8:16 am
Full Name: Stan
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by stanthewizzard » Sep 13, 2015 6:30 am

The issue was resolved for me too by enabling SSLv3

Thanks flakypro

chrmol
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 17, 2010 7:41 pm
Full Name: Christian Moeller
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by chrmol » Sep 13, 2015 7:52 am

I also got the "Failed to create NFC download stream" after upgrading one of my lab hosts to Update 1.

ACrispiels
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 27, 2009 4:57 pm
Full Name: Alain H. Crispiels
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by ACrispiels » Sep 13, 2015 12:25 pm

I also got the "Failed to create NFC download stream" after upgrading one of my lab hosts to Update 1.
The issue was resolved for me too by enabling SSLv3
Thanks flakpyro and VBu

gerdesj
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 21, 2012 3:02 pm
Full Name: Jon Gerdes
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by gerdesj » Sep 13, 2015 11:15 pm 1 person likes this post

It's a shame that Veeam don't support proper encryption by default. SSLv3 has been deprecated for some time now. TLS 1.1+ should be the default by now for all software, it's been around for a long time. PCI DSS (current) mandates TLS and will be required this next June.

On the other hand perhaps VMware could have notified their third party providers of software that they would be doing this first.

Veeam: Pull your finger out. The various SSL related issues have been news for months if not years.

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22995
Liked: 2890 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by Gostev » Sep 14, 2015 1:06 am

Jon, I don't know if you had a chance to read this thread before posting - but according to the KB article above, this issue affects even VMware's own products...

In any case, there is really no need to be so harsh in your very first post on these forums... let's be constructive. I know that we do use TLS in our product, because I was checking on this myself a few months ago (had many questions regarding this and our Cloud Connect functionality). So, this issue is as unexpected to me, as it is to you.

I don't want to be guessing, but judging on the error above, this error could be caused by certain VMware NFC API function not supporting TLS. We will know for sure once our devs get a chance to investigate this issue more closely.

joergr
Expert
Posts: 383
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by joergr » Sep 14, 2015 7:13 am 2 people like this post

@All please also keep an eye on this one - it is a bad one and it concerns esxi 6.0.x and 6.0u1.
http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/search ... Id=2124669

Best,
Joerg

agregersen
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 14, 2015 8:23 am
Full Name: Anders Gregersen
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by agregersen » Sep 14, 2015 12:36 pm

It seems our installation is doing the backup slower after U1 and the SSLv3 workaround - what's your experience?

lightsout
Expert
Posts: 207
Liked: 54 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by lightsout » Sep 14, 2015 1:22 pm

As I would understand it, this effects ESXi 6.0 U1 and not vCenter 6.0 U1? As it seems to be ESXi which is the source of issue.

I'll agree I was surprised that Veeam was still using SSL too, so I'll be curious to see what the devs find out.

wreedps
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 14, 2015 2:11 am
Full Name: Will Reed
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by wreedps » Sep 14, 2015 2:03 pm

I am having the same issue after updating to U1, how do I fix this?

rseabrooke
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 27, 2011 5:27 pm
Full Name: Robert Seabrooke
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by rseabrooke » Sep 14, 2015 2:44 pm

Yep, that effected us and we cannot go back to 5.5 because we are running Horizon on top of it:(

@All please also keep an eye on this one - it is a bad one and it concerns esxi 6.0 and 6.0u1.
http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/search ... Id=2124669

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], darlinga, Google [Bot], victor.perezdemingo and 36 guests