vSphere 6.0 U1

VMware specific discussions

vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby stanthewizzard » Fri Sep 11, 2015 6:12 am

Hello

Is Veeam compatible with those two ?

Thanks
stanthewizzard
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:16 am
Full Name: Stan

Re: VMware vSphere 6.0 support

Veeam Logoby flakpyro » Fri Sep 11, 2015 10:44 pm 3 people like this post

Patched to vCenter and ESXi 6.0 Update 1 today and was unable to run any Veeam jobs until i re-enabled SSLv3 on port 902 on my ESXi hosts as per

http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micros ... Id=2121021

Veeam logs contained
Code: Select all
[11.09.2015 14:32:55] <  3016>      ERR |SSL error, code: [336151568].error:14094410:SSL routines:SSL3_READ_BYTES:sslv3 alert handshake failure
[11.09.2015 14:32:55] <  3016>      >>  |SSL_connect() function call has failed.
[11.09.2015 14:32:55] <  3016>      >>  |Failed to establish connection with the SSL server.
[11.09.2015 14:32:55] <  3016>      >>  |Cannot initialize new SSL connection.
[11.09.2015 14:32:55] <  3016>      >>  |Authd handshake has failed.

and the console showed

Code: Select all
NFC storage connection is unavailable. Storage: [stg:datastore-636373,nfchost:host-329656
Failed to create NFC download stream. NFC path: [nfc://path].

After enabling SSLv3 on the esxi hosts backups run as they did before the update to 6.0 Update 1.
flakpyro
Influencer
 
Posts: 19
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:15 pm
Full Name: David M

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby jamerson » Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:52 am

didn't want to update the host yet.
people who did, is VEEAM working fine with the new 6.0U1 ?
jamerson
Expert
 
Posts: 250
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby albatorsk » Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:32 pm

I has the same problem after upgrading to 6.0u1 as flakypro, but the issue was resolved by enabling SSLv3 again.
albatorsk
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:23 pm
Full Name: Per Larsson

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sat Sep 12, 2015 7:16 pm

jamerson wrote:people who did, is VEEAM working fine with the new 6.0U1 ?

I know we have also updated our QC labs with vSphere 6.0 U1 on Friday as well, but I did not hear anything bad from QC yet. However, it's possible that they have upgraded, armed the auto-tests to run over the weekend, and left home (or to the bar). In any case, I will know this for sure on Monday.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21172
Liked: 2305 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby stanthewizzard » Sun Sep 13, 2015 6:30 am

The issue was resolved for me too by enabling SSLv3

Thanks flakypro
stanthewizzard
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:16 am
Full Name: Stan

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby chrmol » Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:52 am

I also got the "Failed to create NFC download stream" after upgrading one of my lab hosts to Update 1.
chrmol
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 36
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 7:41 pm
Location: Denmark
Full Name: Christian Moeller

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby ACrispiels » Sun Sep 13, 2015 12:25 pm

I also got the "Failed to create NFC download stream" after upgrading one of my lab hosts to Update 1.
The issue was resolved for me too by enabling SSLv3
Thanks flakpyro and VBu
ACrispiels
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 4:57 pm
Full Name: Alain H. Crispiels

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby gerdesj » Sun Sep 13, 2015 11:15 pm 1 person likes this post

It's a shame that Veeam don't support proper encryption by default. SSLv3 has been deprecated for some time now. TLS 1.1+ should be the default by now for all software, it's been around for a long time. PCI DSS (current) mandates TLS and will be required this next June.

On the other hand perhaps VMware could have notified their third party providers of software that they would be doing this first.

Veeam: Pull your finger out. The various SSL related issues have been news for months if not years.
gerdesj
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 3:02 pm
Full Name: Jon Gerdes

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Sep 14, 2015 1:06 am

Jon, I don't know if you had a chance to read this thread before posting - but according to the KB article above, this issue affects even VMware's own products...

In any case, there is really no need to be so harsh in your very first post on these forums... let's be constructive. I know that we do use TLS in our product, because I was checking on this myself a few months ago (had many questions regarding this and our Cloud Connect functionality). So, this issue is as unexpected to me, as it is to you.

I don't want to be guessing, but judging on the error above, this error could be caused by certain VMware NFC API function not supporting TLS. We will know for sure once our devs get a chance to investigate this issue more closely.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21172
Liked: 2305 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby joergr » Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:13 am 2 people like this post

@All please also keep an eye on this one - it is a bad one and it concerns esxi 6.0.x and 6.0u1.
http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/search ... Id=2124669

Best,
Joerg
joergr
Expert
 
Posts: 377
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby agregersen » Mon Sep 14, 2015 12:36 pm

It seems our installation is doing the backup slower after U1 and the SSLv3 workaround - what's your experience?
agregersen
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 8:23 am
Full Name: Anders Gregersen

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby lightsout » Mon Sep 14, 2015 1:22 pm

As I would understand it, this effects ESXi 6.0 U1 and not vCenter 6.0 U1? As it seems to be ESXi which is the source of issue.

I'll agree I was surprised that Veeam was still using SSL too, so I'll be curious to see what the devs find out.
lightsout
Expert
 
Posts: 183
Liked: 46 times
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby wreedps » Mon Sep 14, 2015 2:03 pm

I am having the same issue after updating to U1, how do I fix this?
wreedps
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 2:11 am
Full Name: Will Reed

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Veeam Logoby rseabrooke » Mon Sep 14, 2015 2:44 pm

Yep, that effected us and we cannot go back to 5.5 because we are running Horizon on top of it:(

@All please also keep an eye on this one - it is a bad one and it concerns esxi 6.0 and 6.0u1.
http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/search ... Id=2124669
rseabrooke
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:27 pm
Full Name: Robert Seabrooke

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mattfrech, Stefan74 and 27 guests