Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
ochm
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 14, 2017 7:32 am
Full Name: Martin Och
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by ochm » Oct 18, 2018 7:29 am

Works perfectly (vCenter6.7U1, ESXi some older 6.7).
Failed job (before applied workaround) muste be RUN after registry setting, do not try RETRY, it leads to error.

stanthewizzard
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 09, 2012 8:16 am
Full Name: Stan
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by stanthewizzard » Oct 18, 2018 8:31 am

Yes
workaround does the job

Squuiid
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 18, 2018 12:08 pm
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by Squuiid » Oct 18, 2018 12:12 pm 1 person likes this post

@Gostev Would the issue be present when using vCenter 6.7u1 but with 6.5 hosts?

chris.childerhose
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 89
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Full Name: Chris Childerhose
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by chris.childerhose » Oct 18, 2018 1:44 pm 1 person likes this post

@Squuiid - thanks for asking this as we have the same situation with VCSA at 6.7 but hosts remain on 6.5. I am curious to know if updating VCSA will have issues as getting the full HTML5 client is a must at some point.

UPDATE - received confirmation that if the hosts stay at 6.5 and the VCSA 6.7 is updated with U1 that the API goes at "base" 6.7 so no need for the registry setting if you use this configuration of VC & Hosts. 8)
Chris Childerhose, VCAP-DCA, VMCE9, VCP, MCITP
Veeam Vanguard

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23119
Liked: 2917 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by Gostev » Oct 18, 2018 2:34 pm

We have not explicitly tested this scenario (vCenter 6.7U1 with ESXi 6.5 hosts).

kaschenberg
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 18, 2018 3:01 pm
Full Name: Kyle Aschenberg
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by kaschenberg » Oct 18, 2018 3:03 pm 1 person likes this post

chris.childerhose wrote:
Oct 18, 2018 1:44 pm
@Squuiid - thanks for asking this as we have the same situation with VCSA at 6.7 but hosts remain on 6.5. I am curious to know if updating VCSA will have issues as getting the full HTML5 client is a must at some point.

UPDATE - received confirmation that if the hosts stay at 6.5 and the VCSA 6.7 is updated with U1 that the API goes at "base" 6.7 so no need for the registry setting if you use this configuration of VC & Hosts. 8)
This is not true. We use all 6.5 esx hosts and after updating to vcenter 6.7 U1, my backups were failing. After applying the registry fix they are running fine again.

jlipari
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 15, 2012 9:46 pm
Full Name: Jason Lipari
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by jlipari » Oct 18, 2018 6:29 pm

kaschenberg wrote:
Oct 18, 2018 3:03 pm
This is not true. We use all 6.5 esx hosts and after updating to vcenter 6.7 U1, my backups were failing. After applying the registry fix they are running fine again.
Same here - All backups were failing after upgrading from a previous build of vCenter 6.7 to 6.7U1, with all ESXi 6.5 hosts. The registry fix resolved the failures.

ashleyw
Service Provider
Posts: 146
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by ashleyw » Oct 18, 2018 7:40 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks @Gostev and team, Registry fix works a charm on our side 6.7 update 1 vcentre appliance (build 6.7.0.20000), esxi hosts running 6.7 update 1 as well (build 10302608).
I was worried there for a second, but good news for us is that there are a few fixed issues around cert handling in VCSA 6.7 that appear to have been fixed in update 1 release, and to top it off we have backups again ;-)

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23119
Liked: 2917 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by Gostev » Oct 19, 2018 2:05 pm

All auto-tests of Update 3a with the workaround enabled have completed successfully, so all base Veeam Backup & Replication functionality is now confirmed to work with vSphere 6.7 U1. I will provide another update once the full regression testing cycle completes.

chris.childerhose
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 89
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Full Name: Chris Childerhose
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by chris.childerhose » Oct 19, 2018 2:49 pm

Thanks everyone for the confirmation and I will be applying the fix to my Veeam server. I will also talk to my source about the misinformation. :)
Chris Childerhose, VCAP-DCA, VMCE9, VCP, MCITP
Veeam Vanguard

saltymb08
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 19, 2018 4:44 pm
Full Name: Adam Costello
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by saltymb08 » Oct 19, 2018 4:46 pm

Hey guys, does this registry adjustment need to be done on the proxy servers as well? I have done this on the backup server with ZERO luck on the effect. Also, does this require a certain patch level of 9.5?

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23119
Liked: 2917 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by Gostev » Oct 19, 2018 7:46 pm

Only on the backup server, and you have to be on Update 3a.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 296
Liked: 17 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by jamerson » Oct 20, 2018 9:24 pm

I can confirm the registry has done the job.
big thank you guys.

zimeon
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 26, 2018 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by zimeon » Oct 22, 2018 4:22 am

Works in the lab as well, no problems so far!

zadrian
Enthusiast
Posts: 39
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jul 14, 2015 8:26 am
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.7 U1 Support

Post by zadrian » Oct 23, 2018 10:20 am 1 person likes this post

I do not think it is wise to ask customers not to update vCenter or ESXi to 6.7u1 as there are so many security patches nowadays.
I would think that Veeam should have some sort of announcement made to their customers via the Veeam GUI about such issues and workarounds.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andreas Neufert, caztor, Polina, ta_yoshizumi and 47 guests