Where to install Veeam B&R in my Case.

VMware specific discussions

Where to install Veeam B&R in my Case.

Veeam Logoby DeRo » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:36 am

Hello Forum,

i´m pretty new with Veeam so i have a Question.
I have a ESXI 6 Host with 1 Virtual Machine running Server 2012 R2 Standard at the moment.
Also i have a QNAP TS-253A. I want to use Veeam B&R for my Backups because i want to perform Live Migration during a Worst Case Scenario.
Now my Question:

With a Server 2012R2 Standard License i can activate 2 VM´s on my Host. (One is already activated)
Now im thinking on where to install the Backup Server?
I mean i could install it on the same Host where i want to perform a Backup.
With this Option i have not to buy 1 more OS License only for Veeam.
But for Performance its better to install Veeam on a seperate Server right?
So i need to buy 1 more License to ,for example, install Server 2012R2 as VM on the QNAP NAS (includes a Virtualization Station where i can install VM´s)
and install Veeam on it.

Can u Guys maybe tell me Newbie whats the Best Practice in my Scenario ?

Thanks in advance!

Greetings
DeRo
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:42 am
Full Name: Denis Romanowski

Re: Where to install Veeam B&R in my Case.

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:50 am

Best scenario in case of performance and price would be to install a second Windows VM on the host and install Backup & Replication there.

As well an option would be to use a single Veeam Agent for Windows/Linux Agent and install it on the server. You can backup to the QNAP on a share.

Fist option would offer Instant VM Recovery.


Another idea would be to use another VMware host and backup + Replicate the VMs to that System. That way you will have a disaster recovery hardware. If the first physical server die you can start your VM(s) immediatelly on the second physical server with VMware.
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2201
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: Where to install Veeam B&R in my Case.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:59 am

Hi Denis, I don't think performance is really an issue with your setup with just a single VM. Basically, backup server itself can be installed anywhere, on any existing server/VM. Having it installed on the same VM you're backing up will result in no ability to use CBT if backing up via hotadd, just keep this in mind.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests