Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
TaylorB
Enthusiast
Posts: 86
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 28, 2011 4:40 pm
Full Name: Taylor B.
Contact:

Why is copy job making new snapshots and backup points?

Post by TaylorB »

Trying to set up a copy job to copy backups of certain VMs offsite to another location. I set up WAN accelerator on both sides. I made a copy job and selected some VMs as a test. When I run the copy job, it makes snapshots of the running VMs and starts backing up new points like if I did a normal backup. Is this normal? I thought backup copy job was to copy existing backups. I have existing backups of these VMs I expected it to use. If it is making new backups, then my offsite copy will not match my onsite copy (plus I will have double impact to VM infrastructure).

TaylorB
Enthusiast
Posts: 86
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Jan 28, 2011 4:40 pm
Full Name: Taylor B.
Contact:

Re: Why is copy job making new snapshots and backup points?

Post by TaylorB »

Immediately after posting this, I realized my error. I had created a "VM Copy" job rather than "Backup Copy" job. Please ignore or delete.

Mildur
Veeam Software
Posts: 5532
Liked: 1595 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Why is copy job making new snapshots and backup points?

Post by Mildur »

Thanks for the update. 👍
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests