Cannot connect VM to the target network after upgrade

Hyper-V specific discussions

Cannot connect VM to the target network after upgrade

Veeam Logoby wizard-ict » Wed Oct 14, 2015 3:39 pm

Hi
I've just upgrade from v7 to v8 and having a few issues since the upgrade. We have a number of Hyper-V Backup and Replication jobs that completed successfully before the update. We have updated the Veeam server and all components and installed all the latest updates (Windows and Veeam).

The Hyper-V replication jobs now complete, however always with the warning "Cannot connect VM to the target network". We had this previously with v7 but enabling Network Remapping solved the issue (even though the network name is identical at both sides). Remapping is still enabled, I have tried disabling it, recreating it but always with the same error. Some the jobs use Application Aware processing, but not all.

I wondered if this was because the jobs were created prior to the update, so I tried creating a new replication job going between the same hosts. The job fails with an rpc error. Since the job uses exactly the same settings and servers as the existing jobs this makes no sense to me (the firewalls are already configured to allow all traffic between both hosts and Veeam server). This job does not use Application Aware as it's only a test.


Any suggestions on either issues?
wizard-ict
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:11 pm
Full Name: Mark Jackson

Re: Cannot connect VM to the target network after upgrade

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:18 am

Hi Mark,
All jobs should work fine after the update. What version have you updated on? v8 update3?
I`d suggest contacting technical support team, since the behavior is unexpected and logs should be reviewed.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Cannot connect VM to the target network after upgrade

Veeam Logoby wizard-ict » Thu Oct 15, 2015 4:24 pm

Thanks for the reply. I hadn't realised update 3 was available, I'm currently using 2b, I will try updating later and see if it helps.

I've stood up another VM with a clean install of Veeam V8. Replication works (to some extent) without the "Cannot connect VM to the target network" error, so it must be related to the upgrade.. Given that I'm only looking at 10 jobs my intention is to migrate the jobs to the new server. If nothing else it'll give me a chance to clean things up a bit.

The RPC error still persists, but strangely only in 1 direction (i.e. I can replicate A to B but not B to A). I need to investigate this further and may start a new post if I can't resolve it.
wizard-ict
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:11 pm
Full Name: Mark Jackson

Re: Cannot connect VM to the target network after upgrade

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Oct 15, 2015 5:40 pm

The RPC problem is usually caused by antivirus software and/or firewall. Have you updated anything else besides VBR?
As I said, VBR updates themselves, shouldn`t cause any issues. Re-creating the jobs may help, but I would contact the support instead.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Cannot connect VM to the target network after upgrade

Veeam Logoby wizard-ict » Fri Oct 16, 2015 11:18 am

I always try my best to solve issues myself (or with the help of a community) before passing them to support, particularly in cases like this where the backup/replication is still technically working. I guess it gives me a sense of achievement and a better understanding of the product.

Nothing else has been updated and there's no AV on the Veeam Server or hosts, so I think we can rule that out.

There is a firewall but I've created a rule to allow all traffic between the Veeam Server and both HV hosts in both directions (i.e. all 3 can talk to any of the other two). I am still open to the idea the firewalls may be the issue, but as it stands I can't do much more than that without more specific information on the problem.

I've turned off Application Aware for the sake of testing.

The issue seems very strange, here's what I've found so far:

Both Site A and B backup successfully.
Site A can replicate to Site B
Site B can not replicate to Site A (rpc error)

Is there any way (or does anyone know) I can identify which of the components we are looking for the RPC error on? If I can identify if it's the source or destination at least I know where to look. The logs don't really seem to identify which server the error is on, but the one way replication would suggest it's 1 specific host causing the issue.
wizard-ict
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:11 pm
Full Name: Mark Jackson

Re: Cannot connect VM to the target network after upgrade

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Oct 19, 2015 2:54 pm 1 person likes this post

Mark, can you please make sure that all the involved hosts are reachable by their NetBIOS names from the Veeam B&R server?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14743
Liked: 1082 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Cannot connect VM to the target network after upgrade

Veeam Logoby wizard-ict » Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:18 pm

foggy wrote:Mark, can you please make sure that all the involved hosts are reachable by their NetBIOS names from the Veeam B&R server?

Where were you earlier? You could have saved me a LOT of time!

The hosts were reachable by FQDN but not NetBIOS name, as these are WAN links NetBIOS isn't something we would normally set up or expect to use. I've added hosts entries on the VBR server and replication is now working, thank you!

Strange how this wasn't required in v7, however as it's only a couple of hosts entries I can live with it if it works.
wizard-ict
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:11 pm
Full Name: Mark Jackson

Re: Cannot connect VM to the target network after upgrade

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Oct 21, 2015 1:01 pm

Replica mechanisms differ between v7 and v8, where snapshot replica is used that requires NetBIOS names.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14743
Liked: 1082 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Cannot connect VM to the target network after upgrade

Veeam Logoby wizard-ict » Wed Oct 21, 2015 1:42 pm

foggy wrote:Replica mechanisms differ between v7 and v8, where snapshot replica is used that requires NetBIOS names.


That makes sense. Thanks once again for the help and explanation.
wizard-ict
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:11 pm
Full Name: Mark Jackson


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests