HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setup

Hyper-V specific discussions

HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setup

Veeam Logoby shamamibabz » Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:50 pm

Hello there

I'm very new to veeam, i would like to know some very basic information about a test setup. i am about to make little test Environment for learning and gain experience about veeam and clustering setup.

I have 2 Hyper-V Host win 2012 r2 both have 5 VMs and those 2 hosts are in a failover cluster. they have a NAS server as shared storage. but i want also redundant backup to another NAS incase my NAS which is carrying all my VMs.
while i have my NAS server 1, i want replicate the VMs to NAS Server 2

my question is: can i use the laptop(with windows server 2012) on the picture as proxy server and veeam server? :?:
another question, is there any guides how to setup a proxy server?
in Veeam i have to target a repository in my case would that be my NAS server? :oops:

i would be really thankful if someone could help me out.
Thanks in advance
Image
shamamibabz
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:18 pm
Full Name: smekisk habieu

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jun 06, 2014 10:25 am

my question is: can i use the laptop(with windows server 2012) on the picture as proxy server and veeam server?

Yes, you can. Though the role of on-host proxy will be assigned to the HV hosts added to backup console.

another question, is there any guides how to setup a proxy server?

As mentioned, the role of on-host proxy will be played by underlying HV host.

in Veeam i have to target a repository in my case would that be my NAS server?

Yes, you can use the said device as the target for backup jobs.

Anyway, I recommend you reviewing corresponding User Guide; it should give extensive answers to all of your questions.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:51 am

shamamibabz wrote:my question is: can i use the laptop(with windows server 2012) on the picture as proxy server and veeam server?

Actually I would not recommend doing this due to performance and reliability considerations. In order to install proxy server on the laptop, you would have to present CSV volumes to your laptop and install either hardware VSS provider (not sure you have these for NAS boxes) or use CSV VSS provider.

Given that you don't have many VMs to backup, I would recommend proceeding with on-host proxy servers.

BTW, what kind of NAS is this? If it has iSCSI you can mount this box to the backup server and create local repository pointing to the local volume. Alternatively, you can add this NAS box as a CIFS repository and point your backup jobs to this location.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby shamamibabz » Fri Jun 06, 2014 2:22 pm

Thanks eremit for the answers.
Vitaliy my nas is 2x qnap nas ts 469 turbo nas pro. My virtuel machines is right now on nas server 1 on the drawing in my first post. I want to replicate them to nas server 2.

So I can add nas server 2 as repository as backup location and it will replicate the storage from nas 1 to nas 2 ?
shamamibabz
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:18 pm
Full Name: smekisk habieu

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Jun 06, 2014 2:31 pm 1 person likes this post

Yes, you can add the second NAS as a backup repository, however Veeam B&R will not "replicate the storage", it will backup the VMs you select in the backup job that will target this backup repository.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby shamamibabz » Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:43 pm

okay when you say it will not "replicate the storage" does that mean it ---> it is not replicate the vhd files?
shamamibabz
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:18 pm
Full Name: smekisk habieu

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Jun 06, 2014 9:08 pm

There are two kinds of jobs basically: backup jobs (that create compressed and deduped backup files containing VM data on the target repository) and replication jobs (that create complete ready-to-start replicas of the original VMs registered on the target Hyper-V host). Depending on what do you want to achieve (and what are your RPO/RTO requirements), you can go either way and set up your second NAS appropriately.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jun 06, 2014 9:13 pm

Usually we recommend doing backups for VMs with longer retention period (archival purposes), and run replication jobs for VMs that require low RTO, but as Alexander has pointed out - the setup depends on your RPO/RTO requirements.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby shamamibabz » Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:16 am

Which one of these option should I be using if I use iscsi on nas server they are using both nfs and cifs.http://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/70/hyperv/

And can I use iscsi initiator for to connect my backup nas server and link it the disk drive e.g. J: which is the disk drive from my nas server? http://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/70/hyperv/
shamamibabz
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:18 pm
Full Name: smekisk habieu

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:06 am 1 person likes this post

If your NAS device that you're going to use as destination target for your backups supports iSCSI, I would recommend to mount it to your backup server and create an NTFS formatted volume and then use this volume as a repository.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby shamamibabz » Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:50 am

Thanks Vitaliy it worked, i used iscsi initiator to connect nas server to my backup server and formatted the disk as you said.

but right now i got into a issue when i setup everything and i want to setup a backup jobs i can only see my Cluster node 1 and node 2. but i cannot see the Virtual machine under it.

so i closed the wizard and went to "Virtual machines" and then i expanded volumes---> my cluster ip---> one of my node and when i click my C: drive i got an error message saying : "Failed to execute WMI query, failed to enumrate VMs on host "node1" invaild class". i wanted to do do this to see if i could see the virtual machines

have i forgotten something through the installation or does it have SQL server?
shamamibabz
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:18 pm
Full Name: smekisk habieu

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:33 am

Just to make sure we are on the same page - you don't see any VMs when creating backup jobs, do you? What version of Veeam B&R are you running? Is it v7R2?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby shamamibabz » Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:47 am

Yes i do not see any VM's weither on Virtual machines menu or when i am about to create a backup job.

i am running version 70.0.690 but there is no R2 anywhere. i mean it cannot be so old i just download like 19 days ago this version from Veeam.com.
there is a newer version? because i am sure i downloaded the newest version
shamamibabz
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:18 pm
Full Name: smekisk habieu

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:58 am 1 person likes this post

Product updates are downloaded separately.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Veeam Logoby shamamibabz » Tue Jun 10, 2014 12:13 pm

Thanks Alexander :)
shamamibabz
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:18 pm
Full Name: smekisk habieu

Next

Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests