Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
shamamibabz
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: smekisk habieu

HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setup

Post by shamamibabz »

Hello there

I'm very new to veeam, i would like to know some very basic information about a test setup. i am about to make little test Environment for learning and gain experience about veeam and clustering setup.

I have 2 Hyper-V Host win 2012 r2 both have 5 VMs and those 2 hosts are in a failover cluster. they have a NAS server as shared storage. but i want also redundant backup to another NAS incase my NAS which is carrying all my VMs.
while i have my NAS server 1, i want replicate the VMs to NAS Server 2

my question is: can i use the laptop(with windows server 2012) on the picture as proxy server and veeam server? :?:
another question, is there any guides how to setup a proxy server?
in Veeam i have to target a repository in my case would that be my NAS server? :oops:

i would be really thankful if someone could help me out.
Thanks in advance
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: HELP: with basic information about veeam basic test setu

Post by veremin »

my question is: can i use the laptop(with windows server 2012) on the picture as proxy server and veeam server?
Yes, you can. Though the role of on-host proxy will be assigned to the HV hosts added to backup console.
another question, is there any guides how to setup a proxy server?
As mentioned, the role of on-host proxy will be played by underlying HV host.
in Veeam i have to target a repository in my case would that be my NAS server?
Yes, you can use the said device as the target for backup jobs.

Anyway, I recommend you reviewing corresponding User Guide; it should give extensive answers to all of your questions.

Thanks.
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Post by Vitaliy S. »