Hyper-V to VMware

Hyper-V specific discussions

Re: Hyper-V to VMware

Veeam Logoby wmoore » Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:36 am

I have a scenario where I would like to use B&R to replicate a live Hyper-V environment to a warm DR vSphere environment - is this possible? I'm not finding anything, which suggests it isn't but I'd like to confirm.
wmoore
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 6:00 am
Full Name: Wayne Moore

Re: Hyper-V to VMware

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:44 pm

Hi Wayne, you're correct in your assumption - Veeam does not provide this functionality. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Hyper-V to VMware

Veeam Logoby ferranti_thomas » Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:32 am

Is it possible to have a main datacenter/server running vSphere in NewYork and a backup datacenter/server running Hyper-V in Washington and use Veeam Backup & Replication v6.5 to backup VM's from vSphere (New York) to Hyper-V(Washington) & restore the VM's when needed (from Washington to New York)? Or do I have to use V2V-conversion tool from Acronis or Starwinds?
ferranti_thomas
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:06 am
Full Name: Thomas Zwart

Re: Hyper-V to VMware

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:10 am

Thomas, you have to use V2V conversion tools for that.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Hyper-V to VMware

Veeam Logoby ferranti_thomas » Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:41 pm

Like System Center Virtual Machine Manager (Hyper-V) and vCenter Converter (vSphere)? Or are there others (you suggets)?
ferranti_thomas
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:06 am
Full Name: Thomas Zwart

Re: Hyper-V to VMware

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:42 pm 2 people like this post

Yes, both tools you've mentioned can be used in this scenario for one time conversion.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] : Replication between two different Host-Types

Veeam Logoby wal_ter » Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:11 am

Can i perform a Replication-Job to replicate a VM from a ESX to a HyperV Host?
If not, will this function be a part of further Veeam B&R Versions?

Thanks!
wal_ter
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:53 pm

Re: Hyper-V to VMware

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:26 am

Can i perform a Replication-Job to replicate a VM from a ESX to a HyperV Host?


No, it's not possible.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Hyper-V to VMware

Veeam Logoby jkintz79 » Thu Aug 01, 2013 6:51 pm

I too am looking to convert a VM from Hyper-V to VmWare. Currently the stand-alone converter from VmWare bombs when converting an Ubuntu 12.04 vm, which is very annoying. I went with Veeam after reading several good reviews, but now am still unable to convert a machine...
http://communities.vmware.com/message/1884331#1884331

The workarounds described in the thread above may work, after hours of troubleshooting and struggling, but aren't acceptable for my environment. Was hoping Veeam was the answer. Will be uninstalling this junk and explaining to my boss what I was doing for the last three days now...
jkintz79
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 6:43 pm

Re: Hyper-V to VMware

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:34 am

Veeam B&R is not a solution for V2V conversion, seems that you've misinterpreted those reviews at some point. You should use tools designed specifically to address this task instead (like the ones mentioned in this thread above). Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Replicate from Hyper-V 2012 to Vmware 5

Veeam Logoby karlochacon » Mon Aug 05, 2013 5:16 pm

hi guys

I have a customer who has 7 VMs running right now and he wants to use our Datacenter as a Disaster Recovery Site.

I would like to know if it's possible to use Veeam Replication to replicate these VMs running on Hyper-V 2012 to a Virtual Datacenter running on Vmware 5.1

so Is It possible?
Veeam Replication is enough? For the seeding process I backup this VMs and I take them to Vmwar Site and Restore.
Which Veeam replication I should by? for Hyper-v o for Vmware?


thanks a lot
karlochacon
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:43 pm
Full Name: Carlos Chacon

Re: Replicate from Hyper-V 2012 to Vmware 5

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:21 pm

Hello Carlos, unfortunately replication between different hypervisors is not supported at all in B&R. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Hyper-V to VMware

Veeam Logoby mbiesheuvel » Wed Jan 29, 2014 8:51 am

Been an half year since last post. Is it now possible to backup hyper-v with veeam and restore it to esx with veeam? I mean.. you guys have both technologies... When I think logic it does not seem very difficult.. the only difference with the 2 versions is the license key.
mbiesheuvel
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 7:23 am
Full Name: Michel Biesheuvel

Re: Hyper-V to VMware

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jan 29, 2014 8:53 am

No, corresponding conversion tools are required to do such kind of migration.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Hyper-V to VMware

Veeam Logoby mbiesheuvel » Wed Jan 29, 2014 9:03 am

The thing is those tools are crappy.. take long and often don't work. I have more faith in you guys.
mbiesheuvel
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 7:23 am
Full Name: Michel Biesheuvel

PreviousNext

Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests