Virtual Lab - Multiple VLAN's

Hyper-V specific discussions

Virtual Lab - Multiple VLAN's

Veeam Logoby LinkeLoe » Fri Sep 12, 2014 8:20 am

Hi,

I'm trying to set up a virtual lab and SureBackup, but I'm running into a problem with mapping the production networks to isolated networks.

We have a Hyper-V cluster along with System Center VMM running and on this cluster I have defined one Hyper-V Logical Switch for several different VLANs. For each of these VLANs I have created a VM network in SCVMM, connected to the logical switch. I have mapped the production network for one VLAN and this is working fine. When starting a SureBackup job with VM's in this VLAN, I can reach all of them. Now, I'm trying to map another VLAN in the production network to another isolated network, but I get the message that the production network is already specified in an existing mapping rule. This seems logical to me, because Veeam specifies the logical switch, rather than the VM network I created in System Center VMM.

How should I set this up correctly in a way that Veeam can map all of the VLANs instead of just one?
LinkeLoe
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 8:31 pm
Full Name: Leo Schroer

Re: Virtual Lab - Multiple VLAN's

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:29 am 1 person likes this post

Leo, currently network mapping in virtual lab is performed by the network name only, so there's no easy way to implement lab with multiple VLANs. In Veeam B&R v8, however, we've implemented the ability to specify different VLAN IDs.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Virtual Lab - Multiple VLAN's

Veeam Logoby LinkeLoe » Fri Sep 12, 2014 12:48 pm

Hi Alexander,

Thanks for the reply.

Do I understand that in v8 it will be possible to map a Hyper-V logical switch multiple times for different VLANs on the production network? Then I guess I have to wait for v8 to be released...

Leo.
LinkeLoe
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 8:31 pm
Full Name: Leo Schroer

Re: Virtual Lab - Multiple VLAN's

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:23 pm

Yes, you're understanding it right.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests