Alarm Settings AND vs OR logic

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Alarm Settings AND vs OR logic

Veeam Logoby rjoffe » Wed Mar 07, 2012 2:26 pm

On the Alarm Settings Rules, are multiple rules logically looked at as AND or OR statements?

Additionally, the Alarm Settings Reporting tab, are the Tolerance and Frequency AND'd or OR'd together?

Thanks,

Ron
rjoffe
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:49 pm
Full Name: Ron Joffe

Re: Alarm Settings AND vs OR logic

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Mar 07, 2012 3:52 pm

In both cases it is "OR".
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Alarm Settings AND vs OR logic

Veeam Logoby rjoffe » Wed Mar 07, 2012 3:54 pm

Thanks Vitaliy !

Can I make an enhancement request for the ability to optionally change to AND logic ?
rjoffe
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:49 pm
Full Name: Ron Joffe

Re: Alarm Settings AND vs OR logic

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:02 pm

Yes, you can do this request! ;) But could you please elaborate a little further, so I could better understand the use case you have?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Alarm Settings AND vs OR logic

Veeam Logoby rjoffe » Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:00 pm

On the Reporting Tab, I would like to get an alarm the next time the threshold (tolerance) changes by 5% and an hour has gone by.

On the Rules Tab, Ideally we would name each rule (1,2,3) then be able to write a logic statement. Something like "(1 AND 2) OR 3"

For example, I have a process that runs on one of the VM's at 1AM every Mon-Fri. I would like a CPU rule that states "When CPU exceeds 95% AND NOT (when it's between 1AM and 3AM AND day is between Mon-Fri)

Just thinking of other reporting tools I have built in the past that lets you write custom logic, we always needed (AND,OR and Not)
rjoffe
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:49 pm
Full Name: Ron Joffe

Re: Alarm Settings AND vs OR logic

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 12, 2012 4:57 pm

Ron, thanks for the feedback, makes total sense.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19566
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Alarm Settings AND vs OR logic

Veeam Logoby parmand » Thu Apr 04, 2013 6:01 pm

Hi Vitaliy and everyone else,

I know this is a thread necro, as it hasn't been posted in over a year, but my company is currently looking into some reporting tools for VMWare, and Veeam is one of the pieces of software were currently evaluating. I actually created this account looking specifically for this answer. Do you know if this logic has been implemented yet?

For example, heres my use case: Looking at just the default alarms, I see there is an alarm for Memory Swapped. In my environment, we have a few machines that have swapped memory a very long time ago, but are not currently swapping. Because VMWare doesn't actively re-check and put those pages back into memory, the machines still have values in "Memory Swapped". I wanted to add an "AND" operator to the alarm so that it will trigger if there is memory swapped AND the swap in or swap out rate is above 0 (therefore showing that were actually doing some swapping at the moment).

Similarly, I have some VMs that have no heartbeats being received...because they don't have VMWare tools (not compatible). Sure, I could add them to the exclusions, but just for the sake of argument, it would be cool to be able to monitor something like "No heartbeat received AND vmware tools is installed", therefore reducing false positives (not to mention when someone deploys a new machine that doesn't have vmware tools on it yet, it won't trigger a false positive).

Make sense at all?
parmand
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:51 pm
Full Name: Paul Armenakis

Re: Alarm Settings AND vs OR logic

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Apr 05, 2013 11:47 am

Unfortunately, it’s not possible right in the moment. So, if you add several rules with the same severity level, Veeam ONE Monitor will trigger the alarm whenever conditions of any rule are met.

The scenario described above perfectly makes sense.

Thanks for the heads-up; highly-appreciated.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13290
Liked: 971 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests