Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
lordjeffers
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: David Jeffery

Backup / Tape setup??

Post by lordjeffers »

Hi All,

I'm a newbie when it comes to Veeam. I have Veeam nicely doing what BackupExec couldn't do in my vSphere 5.1 environment and that is to reliably back up my VMs. Awesome.

What I would like to know is how to configure my jobs to backup to tape (Quantum i80 library with four fiber-channel LTO5 drives). Here is what I would like to have:

Daily incremental backup to NAS with weekly synthetic fulls - 30 restore points
Weekly backup of the full backups to tape with a retention of 26 weeks, with the tapes going off site

I can't find much documentation or guidelines and am hoping to get some pointers from you guys.

Thanks....
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup / Tape setup??

Post by veremin »

Hi, David.

If I were you, I’d, probably:

• Create a media pool with required retention period (overwrite data for 28 weeks)
• Create a backup to tape job
• In the settings of backup to tape job select the created media pool as a medial pool for full backups
• Deselect option “Process incremental backup”
• Set backup to tape job to run on the day when synthetic full is performed (at the time when it’s certainly finished)

Thanks.
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1568 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Post by Dima P. »

Hello David,

I assume you successfully connected your tape device to Veeam B&R server, if not - please update this thread.
I can't find much documentation or guidelines and am hoping to get some pointers from you guys.

For the detailed step by step instructions - please use our beautiful User Guide Working With Tape Media part (p.423)
lordjeffers
Influencer

Post by lordjeffers »

Hi,