Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
mythumbsclick
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: mythumbsclick

Tape Questions

Post by mythumbsclick »

Hi guys

I have no previous experience with backing up to tape so could really do with a bit of guidance. I currently have an r720 Veeam backup repo (physical - server 2012R2) which my Veeam backup server uses as a target. Using Veeam i also replicate to a remote site critical servers and this all works well. I want to back up a monthly full to tape which will be held in a safe in a remote office for archive purposes. Backing up Exchange/Documents server I would imagine would be no more than a couple of TB so reckon I can get away with a single LT6 tape per month. Because I am a dell "shop" I have been looking at the PowerVault TL1000.

Do you think this would be sufficient and work ok with Veeam?

Can I get away with adding the tape library to the existing physical r720 Veeam repo server via ISCSI initiator and would the Veeam Backup VM be ok having the same server as a Tape repo and a backup target?

Thanks
skrause
Veteran
Liked: 105 times
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Tape Questions

Post by skrause »

Veeam will work fine with your tape library connected to the repository server (I have mine set up this way).

If the disk you use for your backup repository is internal, there should be no issues with connecting the tape library over iSCSI, just use the non-exclusive drivers from the manufacturer. If your disk that your repository server uses are connected by iSCSI, you may potentially run into issues if you use the same HBAs to connect the library and disk (best practices for tape is to have separate HBAs in your server for disk and tape traffic).
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1568 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Post by Dima P. »

Hi,