Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
WellMark
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Mark Moore

How would you configure this environment?

Post by WellMark »

I've been testing, and researching various backup solutions for a few months, and my brain is fried. I'd really appreciate some help, if someone can spare the time. Our entire IT team left, and I've been dubbed the "backup person". I was trying to work with NetBackup, but I've had it, and want to setup an all new backup solution.

I am looking for some recommendations on configuring the backup environment for my work. I will be replacing our old backup software with Veeam. I've never done this before, and would love some advice from the more experienced. I've been trying to research, but I've come across a few concerns, and since I'll be able to set this up from scratch, I'd like to do it right to begin with.

A lot of this comes from problems I encountered while testing Veeam. When testing between a Windows virtual server running Veeam backing up to another Windows virtual server shared drive, we had some very slow backups and restores with Processing rates of 2 - 19MB/s. The storage was a proxy, using Virtual Appliance. Although the backups were configured to use HotAdd, they kept switching to Network. Maybe some suggestions will help when I setup the production environment?

I've seen several documents about Thin vs Thick provisioned datastores, creating a separate datastore for restoring the virtual machines, using RAID or not, backing up to the SAN first, iSCSI being slow or fast? Some information may be out of date, but it’s hard to tell.

So, How would you configure this environment for Veeam Backup and Replication 9

CURRENT ENVIRONMENT NEEDING BACKUPS:
•VMWare/vCenter
•5 ESXi 5.5 hosts (9 sockets)
•50 Virtual Machines all running Windows
•Virtual Windows Server 2008 R2 with Informix databases
•Virtual Windows Server 2003 SP2 with SQL Server 2005