Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
ashman70
Expert
Liked: 12 times
Full Name: Both

DR site setup

Post by ashman70 »

I am going to be deploying a new host to a DR site, I am just wondering if I should first setup the host at the production site, replicate all the production VM's to it and then take it to the DR site so it won't have to do full replicas over the slower 100MB connection? I will be upgrading from Veeam Enterprise to Veeam Enterprise plus so I'll have use of the WAN accelerators, although I've never used them before. Does it require that I have a veeam console setup at my DR site? I guess that would kind of make sense...:-).
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: DR site setup

Post by foggy »

ashman70 wrote:I am going to be deploying a new host to a DR site, I am just wondering if I should first setup the host at the production site, replicate all the production VM's to it and then take it to the DR site so it won't have to do full replicas over the slower 100MB connection?
Yes, this is a recommended approach.
ashman70 wrote: I will be upgrading from Veeam Enterprise to Veeam Enterprise plus so I'll have use of the WAN accelerators, although I've never used them before. Does it require that I have a veeam console setup at my DR site? I guess that would kind of make sense...:-).
You can have Veeam B&R console pretty much anywhere, though a good practice is to have a backup server itself located in the target site to allow for automatic failovers.
ashman70
Expert

Post by ashman70 »

I guess since I'll be changing the IP's of the DR server, I'll have to remove it and add it back into the Veeam console, correct?

Also if I choose to set Veeam up at the DR site, is there anything I need to be concerned about in terms of confusion between running two consoles at different sites?
foggy
Veeam Software

Post by foggy »