Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
DukeR
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Michael

Some really basic questions I guess

Post by DukeR »

Hi all,

I am quite new to the whole Thing but I already went threw the helpcenter which is in my opinion quite a good thing. What I have difficulties with is basically the understanding of application Aware processing and backup copy jobs.
With application aware processing I've got the possibility to backup environments in a consistent state which is imporatant for database server for example.

To be able to restore single items for a file server I dont Need it am i right? Do you have a set of applications which would Need VSS like Exchange, SharePoint, Oracle, SQL?

Further I don't properly understand the meanting of the running interval for copy jobs, it says run daily on 12 am for example but does that mean that it only runs then and is not checking new restore points before? I saw a situation where the backup copy job run immediatly after the backup job even it was configured to run hours later.

Thank you for some clarity here and sorry for these Kind of questions

Best regards
DGrinev
Veteran
Liked: 247 times
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Some really basic questions I guess

Post by DGrinev »

Hi Michael and welcome to the community!

Thank you for the positive feedback about the User Guide.
DukeR wrote:To be able to restore single items for a file server I dont Need it am i right? Do you have a set of applications which would Need VSS like Exchange, SharePoint, Oracle, SQL?
Without AAP you'll able to restore files, as for item restore you need AAP enabled.
Please check our sticky thread where you will find FAQ about AAP.

During the interval backup copy job continuously looking for the new restore points on the source repository and start to copy most recent VM data when it's allowed by backup window and if there are no backup jobs running.