PowerShell script exchange
Alex1983
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Abduraghman Alexander

Restore to test servers using Powershell cmdlets

Post by Alex1983 »

Hi guys, I am pretty new to powershell, so please forgive me if this question seems a bit ignorant...
We are trying to restore backups to our test environments from our IT teams Veeam backup images, at the moment we have to spin up the entire image, perform the backups and then copy them to a location made available to our other test servers, i found the below cmdlets on the veeam forums and thought this might be what we needed, however, i have come across a stumbling block:

When running

Code: Select all

Get-VBRSQLDatabases -ApplicationRestorePoint $restore_point -Name $db_name
where $restore_point =

Get-VBRApplicationRestorePoint -SQL -name $source_vm | ? {$_.type -eq "Full"} | Sort-Object creationtime -Descending | Select-Object -First 1
I get the error

Get-VBRSQLDatabase : A database with the name [db_name] does not exist for restore point...

Could this perhaps be due to the way our IT team is performing there backups or is this code related and i am just missing something?
Any advice here would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
nielsengelen
Product Manager
Liked: 1181 times
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Restore to test servers using Powershell cmdlets

Post by nielsengelen »

Did you enable application aware processing in those backup jobs? In which database mode are the databases you are trying to perform this one?
Personal blog: https://foonet.be
GitHub: https://github.com/nielsengelen
Alex1983
Novice

Post by Alex1983 »

Turns out that option was not enabled, I have enabled it now but now i am unable to see the restore points within the job that i created?
If i run

Get-VBRJob

I can see the job in that list, but when i run

Get-VBRRestorePoint -backup "job_name_here"

i get the below error: