Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
Almero
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Almero

Classic Design Questions

Post by Almero »

Good Morning Team

I am new to Veeam and need to design the classic small regional site .

Active Site >
3 ESXi Hosts with 6.52U2
1 vCenter Appliance 6.5U2
1 DELL 740XD full of SAS disks running VEEAM BnR 9.5U4
1 Mid Range DELL array for source VMs
30 VMs running

DR Site >
Active Site >
3 ESXi Hosts with 6.52U2 ( older kit )
1 vCenter Appliance 6.5U2
1 DELL DR4100 VEEAM Repository ( end of life , and not really part of the day to day business )
1 Mid Range DELL array for VMs and incoming replicas .
Only vCenter , and VEEAM running.
Small 10MB metro Ethernet for replication .

So looking at the deployment scenarios on VEEAM KBs listed here , what would be the best approach .
( https://helpcenter.veeam.com/archive/ba ... anced.html )

We don't have a contractual DR test requirement , so I am not looking at disaster avoidance ideas .
ALL I want is to do daily backups on source/primary/active site , and have the ability to have all VMs recover in the event we lose the entire active site in DR ( Classic approach )

Questions >
1> If I opt for Advanced setup .
One physical DELL 740XD VEEAM server at primary site with all the features installed ( PROXY , vNFS , DB , Repository , WAN accelerator )
Only a virtual VEEAM proxy on DR site .
VEEAM Replicas running from Primary to DR site , either from source VMDKs or Backup Repo ( not sure what is the best option )

If i lose the entire Primary site , with my physical VEEAM server , i cannot recover it in the DR site to do a controlled fail over.
Do I then need to visualize the some of the VEEAM components , so I can replicate the VEEAM server itself to DR , and recover it first in the event of DR ?
So just use the DELL 740XD as a repository in primary site .