Host-based backup of Nutanix AHV VMs.
xaerie
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: xaerie

Stupid question about incremental and capacity tiering

Post by xaerie »

Stupid question about incrementals and capacity tier

I’m still learning Veeam after migrating from another platform. If I have, what the description calls a:

“Backup job (Configure a regular incremental backup job)”

with

“Backup file maintenance- (use these settings to clean up backup jobs of VMs that are no longer included in a backup job) to remove deleted VMs data after 14 days”

“Backup schedule active full backups periodically- weekly on Saturdays”

“Scheduled to run automatically - Daily at 2:00 pm everyday.” And it’s set to “retry failed VMs processing 3 times. Wait 10min to retry”. But I don’t see a .vib daily...

“Restore points to keep is set to 30”

What is this supposed to look like?

It was explained to me we’d see a .vbk full backup every Saturday (So 4 .VBK per month?)

with a .vib incremental every Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday. (So 25 .VIB per month?)

But looking at on prem storage and using online calculators I just don’t see this. I don’t see a .vib every day. I do see a .vbk every Saturday though... looking on-prem again I currently see a .vib occurred on a Sunday? And then another time there was no .vib for a Monday? Is the job perhaps failing and that could be what’s causing my confusion?

To top it off, in the middle of last month I decided to enable capacity tiering... and I have no idea what that’s supposed to be doing every 14 or 30 days yet.
ronnmartin61
Veeam Software
Liked: 123 times
Full Name: Ronn Martin

Re: Stupid question about incremental and capacity tiering

Post by ronnmartin61 » 1 person likes this post