Agent-based backup of Windows, Linux, Max, AIX and Solaris machines.
sebkoe
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Sebastian

Backup (File) Server in DMZ

Post by sebkoe »

Hello all,

I'm new to Veeam Backup and Replication (V11) and have been testing diligently for the last few days.

One of the last items on my checklist is file backups from a server located in our DMZ.

Here is what our setup looks like:

1x Veeam Management Server (Windows VM)
3x Storage/Proxy Server (hardware Windows with local hard disks)

All 4 servers have one IP in our LAN (10.10.149.x)

I want to backup files on a Linux server in our DMZ (public IP) for testing.

The Linux server has therefore only via NAT access to the storage servers.

I have not yet managed to implement this setup. In my search so far, I have also not become smarter. Last I had tested the backup solution from Acronis. There a file backup via NAT was no problem.

I hope to get some tips here.

Thanks and greetings
Sebastian
wishr
Veteran
Liked: 453 times
Full Name: Fedor Maslov

Re: Backup (File) Server in DMZ

Post by wishr »

Hi Sebastian,

Welcome to Veeam R&D forums!

If your Linux server is accessible through NFS from the backup server/backup proxy, there should not be issues backing it up.

Thanks
sebkoe
Influencer

Post by sebkoe »

Hello and thank you.

So i just have to enable access from my storage/proxy Servers to the Linux Server i would like to backup via NFS?
wishr
Veteran

Post by wishr »

Just from the servers where your backup proxies are located, correct.

This diagram highlights a typical deployment scenario and data transmission channels.
Here you can find information on the required ports to be opened.
Also, I'm adding this link to the BP portal maintained by our system engineers (SEs) that provides a lot of useful tips and recommendations.

Thanks
sebkoe
Influencer

Post by sebkoe »

ok, i did a new test setup.