Backup of NAS, file shares, file servers and object storage.
vvbackup2021
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: vv_backup

Data not purged based on retention policy

Post by vvbackup2021 »

Hi,

I'm new to veeam backup. I'm using veeam backup & replication v11 community version. I set the retention to 7 days. the backup data not purged and i have 4 months backup data in my disk and cause my disk almost full.

Why the old backup data not purged? What is the requirement to purge the older data?
Mildur
Product Manager
Liked: 2223 times
Full Name: Fabian K.

Re: Data not purged based on retention policy

Post by Mildur »

In a FileShare backup Job, the newest version of each file will always be kept in the backup Repo.
This 7 days. that you have configured, tells veeam only to keep older versions of a file for at least 7 days on this backup Repository. If you never change or delete this files on the fileshare, you don't have older versions to purge.

See how NAS Retention works in this link:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110

If you still think, that there is something not working, a support case with veeam is required.
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Post by Gostev »

If we don't keep the latest (newest) version of each active file, we simply won't be able to restore the entire file share.
vvbackup2021
Novice

Post by vvbackup2021 »

Hi,
The problem i'm facing now is that older data in the backup repository never get purged and filling up my disk although I have set the "Keep all files version for last: 7 days'. For community version, have to delete the older data manually? Auto purge function only available in licensed version?
Mildur
Product Manager

Post by Mildur »