Discussions related to using object storage as a backup target.
hrai
Influencer
Liked: 14 times
Full Name: HRAI Admin

Wasabi vs Backblaze B2 vs iDrive E2

Post by hrai » 12 people like this post

I have been using Azure cool storage as our Capacity Tier for several months, however I wanted to reduce costs since our data keeps growing and API transaction costs represented almost 50% of our bill. First, I tried changing all our backup jobs to use Large Blocks (4MB) to reduce the API calls (which were very high using the default block size of 1MB) which helped reducing our costs by 25%, but increased the incrementals size considerably (using more precious space of our Performance Tier storage).

This prompted me into looking at other object storage providers that offered cheaper storage and no API (PUT) transaction costs. There are many object storage providers out there but I could not find any comparisons on these forums. So I decided to write this post for other Veeam customers out there doing the same research, and hopefully it helps them in their decision. I started using and testing 3 object storage providers in the past month: Wasabi, Backblaze B2 and iDrive E2 and here are my findings.

Storage cost:
iDrive: $4.09/TB/month ($40/TB/year; $4/TB/year for first year Promo)
Backblaze: $5.12/TB/month
Wasabi: $5.99/TB/month (Discounts over 50TB on 1, 3 or 5 years upfront)

Egress cost and/or free limit:
iDrive: Free up to 3X the total storage in a month
Wasabi: Free up to 1X the total storage in a month
Backblaze: $10.24/TB

API Transactions cost:
iDrive & Wasabi: Free
Backblaze: $0.004 to $0.040 per 10,000 with 2,500 free per day

Early deletion policy:
iDrive and Backblaze: None
Wasabi: Minimum 30 days for Veeam customers plan (90 days for regular customers)

Storage Regions:
Wasabi: 12
iDrive: 9
Backblaze: 2

Immutability:
iDrive and Wasabi: Compatible and objects cannot be deleted on their website.