Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
samuk
Expert
Liked: never
Full Name: Sam

Backup and Restore of a Domain Controller & Exchange 2003

Post by samuk »

Hi,

I am new to veam currently testing the Backups and restores.

We have 4 ESX Servers 1 VC Server (all current builds)
One backup server that is also SAN attached and acts as a VCB proxy.

We have 30+ Virtual Servers, all require backing up.

I performed a Full backup of two Windows 2003 DC's and our Exchange Server. With 4 restore Points. Backup operation completed ok with VSS enabed.

Domain Controllers:
I then restored the DC's backup to a DR ESX Server. I then connected the network to a isolated LAN and powered on the two VM's. The servers booted to Safe mode then into Windows. I had to perform additional steps in order for the DC to function correctly as per KB http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315457/

I was under the impression from reading a Veeam document on VSS Applicaiton level backups and restores that no additional steps are required for when restoring a Domain controller? Is this not the case?

Exchange:
When i tried to restore Exchange it would not let me select a current restore point. I had to select the first restore point for when the job was run.

Can anyone shed some light on how to do a restore of Exchange?
Does it supprt Mailbox Level Restores?

Thanks in advance for any help.

--Sam
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6647 times

Re: Backup and Restore of a Domain Controller & Exchange 2003

Post by Gostev »

Hello Sam, if you have multiple domain controllers that restoring one of them in the isolated network would not work correctly. Domain Controller needs to get in sync with other DCs including FSMO roles holders as a part of restore process.