Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
raycarterin
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: raycarterrapid

Replication from one to another host

Post by raycarterin »

My both host are stand alone both have 1 VM running. Now i am testing with Replication if i start Replication then my VM will keep running on source or it will saved???. i am new to veeam Replication.

veeam backup works awesome. bit its time to work with Replication
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replication from one to another host

Post by foggy »

Replication is the process of copying a VM from its primary location (source host) to a destination location (redundant target host). Veeam Backup & Replication creates an exact copy of the VM (replica), registers it on the target host and maintains it in sync with the original VM.
raycarterin
Influencer

Post by raycarterin »

is this function allowed in trial mode. if i just want to move running vm to another host without downtime. then Replication will work for migration.
foggy
Veeam Software

Post by foggy »

Yes, trial mode does not have any limitations regarding functionality. And yes, you can use replication to migrate VM between hosts.
raycarterin
Influencer

Post by raycarterin »

but how i can migrate there is no option for migrate and i don't have any cluster only 2 stand alone host (Hyper-V). what can i do if i want to migrate running virtual machine to another host. and if i migrate in between virtual machine get offline or remain online for users. i have hyper-v host. i have read in build help and there is noting about hyper-v migration.
foggy
Veeam Software

Post by foggy »