Export Job Configuration

PowerShell script exchange

Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby paallergy » Fri Dec 10, 2010 4:34 am

Is a backup job configuration available somewhere as a file, or is it possible to save/export the configuration for a job?
I would like to compare the settings for two backup jobs. I know I can dot through the GUI screen by screen, but I would prefer using files (txt, xml, html, ...).
paallergy
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 7:10 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Schultz

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby dkvello » Fri Dec 10, 2010 8:16 am

I Second that
dkvello
Service Provider
 
Posts: 90
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Full Name: Dag Kvello

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:23 am

Hello,

Yes, you can do that via Get-VBRJob | Export-VBRJob PowerShell command. This will export all jobs configurations into XML file, which can be used for your future comparison.

Hope it helps!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby paallergy » Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:26 pm

I'll give that a try. Thanks!
paallergy
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 7:10 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Schultz

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby paallergy » Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:25 pm

I was able to export the job configuration. However, the file doesn't seem to contain all configuration options. For example, it didn't see which VM disks were selected for processing.
paallergy
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 7:10 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Schultz

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:46 pm

Jonathan, thanks for your update. Did you find any other information that might be missing?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby paallergy » Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:50 pm

(Get-VBRJob)[0].GetOptions() will list job settings, including DiskFilter.
DiskFilter is a list of numbers (2000;2001;2002; ...). Is there documentation to help parse this data (which VMs and which disks)?
paallergy
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 7:10 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Schultz

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby paallergy » Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:54 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Jonathan, thanks for your update. Did you find any other information that might be missing?

I only found the selected disk because that's what I was concerned about. I don't have time now but at some point I'll compare GUI vs. Export-VBRJob vs. GetOptions.
paallergy
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 7:10 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Schultz

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:58 pm

paallergy wrote:DiskFilter is a list of numbers (2000;2001;2002; ...). Is there documentation to help parse this data (which VMs and which disks)?

Jonathan, let me check that for you with our PowerShell guru, I will let you know as soon as I have any info.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:11 pm

paallergy wrote:DiskFilter is a list of numbers (2000;2001;2002; ...).

Those are VM disks numbers. As to disk filters, then they are stored and can be configured for each VM individually. To get all available filters please use GetVBRJobObject
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby Threonine » Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:44 pm

I was just testing out the Powershell export job functionality in version 5.01 and came across a typo/error in the XML. I thought I'd just mention it as feedback for the developers.

In the algorithm tag...
<Algorithm>Syntethic</Algorithm>

Should be "Synthetic".

Thanks.
Threonine
Service Provider
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:35 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Full Name: Luke D.

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:05 am

Thanks.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby FBraendle » Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:30 am

btw:
is the typo in Set-VBRJobObjectVssOprions already fixed?

greets
Felix
FBraendle
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 39
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 3:36 pm
Full Name: Felix Brändle

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:10 am

No, the fix for this bug/typo didn't make it into 5.0.2 release.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Export Job Configuration

Veeam Logoby FBraendle » Mon Jul 04, 2011 2:36 pm

Hi Vitaly,

seems its still there in 5.0.2.230...

Anyhow:
There is still one question open:
Diskfilter -> How can the info in the Diskfilter field be transformed/parsed into something that can be matched against ESX/WMI to get the drives that are actually backed up?

The explanation you gave above does not give me any usable information(again, i might be missing something):
"Those are VM disks numbers. As to disk filters, then they are stored and can be configured for each VM individually. To get all available filters please use GetVBRJobObject"

So, is it possible to parse/transform those numbers? If so, how?

This is still one major issue for us. We have now +200VMs backed up with Veeam.
Every once in a while a new drive gets attached and every once in a while it doesn't get included into the backup.(at least thats my fear)
So to cross check if everything is still backed up, I have to manually match the VM/ESX Drives to the Veeam Config via Veeam Console.

This is a major pain, uses up too much time and since a human is doing it, the possibility of making mistakes/omiting VMs etc... is existent.

I've seen this Diskfilter question several times now, and there was never a real answer.

I would be pleased if you could give me a straight answer:

Is it possible? If so, how?
or its not possible?


Kind Regards
Felix
FBraendle
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 39
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 3:36 pm
Full Name: Felix Brändle

Next

Return to PowerShell



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests