PowerShell script exchange
paallergy
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 5 times
Joined: May 18, 2010 7:10 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Schultz
Contact:

Export Job Configuration

Post by paallergy » Dec 10, 2010 4:34 am

Is a backup job configuration available somewhere as a file, or is it possible to save/export the configuration for a job?
I would like to compare the settings for two backup jobs. I know I can dot through the GUI screen by screen, but I would prefer using files (txt, xml, html, ...).

dkvello
Service Provider
Posts: 93
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Dag Kvello
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by dkvello » Dec 10, 2010 8:16 am

I Second that

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22127
Liked: 1382 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 10, 2010 10:23 am

Hello,

Yes, you can do that via Get-VBRJob | Export-VBRJob PowerShell command. This will export all jobs configurations into XML file, which can be used for your future comparison.

Hope it helps!

paallergy
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 5 times
Joined: May 18, 2010 7:10 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Schultz
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by paallergy » Dec 10, 2010 2:26 pm

I'll give that a try. Thanks!

paallergy
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 5 times
Joined: May 18, 2010 7:10 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Schultz
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by paallergy » Dec 10, 2010 3:25 pm

I was able to export the job configuration. However, the file doesn't seem to contain all configuration options. For example, it didn't see which VM disks were selected for processing.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22127
Liked: 1382 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 10, 2010 3:46 pm

Jonathan, thanks for your update. Did you find any other information that might be missing?

paallergy
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 5 times
Joined: May 18, 2010 7:10 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Schultz
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by paallergy » Dec 10, 2010 3:50 pm

(Get-VBRJob)[0].GetOptions() will list job settings, including DiskFilter.
DiskFilter is a list of numbers (2000;2001;2002; ...). Is there documentation to help parse this data (which VMs and which disks)?

paallergy
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 5 times
Joined: May 18, 2010 7:10 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Schultz
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by paallergy » Dec 10, 2010 3:54 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Jonathan, thanks for your update. Did you find any other information that might be missing?
I only found the selected disk because that's what I was concerned about. I don't have time now but at some point I'll compare GUI vs. Export-VBRJob vs. GetOptions.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22127
Liked: 1382 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 10, 2010 3:58 pm

paallergy wrote:DiskFilter is a list of numbers (2000;2001;2002; ...). Is there documentation to help parse this data (which VMs and which disks)?
Jonathan, let me check that for you with our PowerShell guru, I will let you know as soon as I have any info.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22127
Liked: 1382 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 13, 2010 3:11 pm

paallergy wrote:DiskFilter is a list of numbers (2000;2001;2002; ...).
Those are VM disks numbers. As to disk filters, then they are stored and can be configured for each VM individually. To get all available filters please use GetVBRJobObject

Threonine
Service Provider
Posts: 28
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jan 25, 2010 9:35 pm
Full Name: Luke D.
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by Threonine » Jan 01, 2011 8:44 pm

I was just testing out the Powershell export job functionality in version 5.01 and came across a typo/error in the XML. I thought I'd just mention it as feedback for the developers.

In the algorithm tag...
<Algorithm>Syntethic</Algorithm>

Should be "Synthetic".

Thanks.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 23860
Liked: 3209 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by Gostev » Jan 02, 2011 12:05 am

Thanks.

FBraendle
Enthusiast
Posts: 39
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 05, 2010 3:36 pm
Full Name: Felix Brändle
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by FBraendle » Apr 26, 2011 9:30 am

btw:
is the typo in Set-VBRJobObjectVssOprions already fixed?

greets
Felix

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22127
Liked: 1382 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 26, 2011 10:10 am

No, the fix for this bug/typo didn't make it into 5.0.2 release.

FBraendle
Enthusiast
Posts: 39
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 05, 2010 3:36 pm
Full Name: Felix Brändle
Contact:

Re: Export Job Configuration

Post by FBraendle » Jul 04, 2011 2:36 pm

Hi Vitaly,

seems its still there in 5.0.2.230...

Anyhow:
There is still one question open:
Diskfilter -> How can the info in the Diskfilter field be transformed/parsed into something that can be matched against ESX/WMI to get the drives that are actually backed up?

The explanation you gave above does not give me any usable information(again, i might be missing something):
"Those are VM disks numbers. As to disk filters, then they are stored and can be configured for each VM individually. To get all available filters please use GetVBRJobObject"

So, is it possible to parse/transform those numbers? If so, how?

This is still one major issue for us. We have now +200VMs backed up with Veeam.
Every once in a while a new drive gets attached and every once in a while it doesn't get included into the backup.(at least thats my fear)
So to cross check if everything is still backed up, I have to manually match the VM/ESX Drives to the Veeam Config via Veeam Console.

This is a major pain, uses up too much time and since a human is doing it, the possibility of making mistakes/omiting VMs etc... is existent.

I've seen this Diskfilter question several times now, and there was never a real answer.

I would be pleased if you could give me a straight answer:

Is it possible? If so, how?
or its not possible?


Kind Regards
Felix

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests