-
- Influencer
- Posts: 22
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Oct 12, 2016 3:17 pm
- Full Name: Nan Zhang
- Contact:
How to delete network mapping from replication job
I need to change the network mapping for replication jobs and what I find is that if the source and destination network are on standard switches the Set-VBRViReplicaJob cmdlet can't update an existing mapping. This is not a problem for distributed switches. But if there is no existing mapping it all goes as expected.
So what I thought is to remove the existing network mapping and then remap it. But I can't find a way to remove the network mapping using the existing cmdlets. I tried (set-VBRViReplicaJob -enablenetworking:$false -Job $job) and it actually deleted the source VM from the job.
Also if there is a way to get the existing network mapping that would be nice. This will help identify if the replication job network mapping is correct or not.
Thanks in advance.
So what I thought is to remove the existing network mapping and then remap it. But I can't find a way to remove the network mapping using the existing cmdlets. I tried (set-VBRViReplicaJob -enablenetworking:$false -Job $job) and it actually deleted the source VM from the job.
Also if there is a way to get the existing network mapping that would be nice. This will help identify if the replication job network mapping is correct or not.
Thanks in advance.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20413
- Liked: 2301 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: How to delete network mapping from replication job
I'm wondering what particular error you got while trying to set new mapping rules with the use of SourceNetwork and TargetNetwork parameters.
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 22
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Oct 12, 2016 3:17 pm
- Full Name: Nan Zhang
- Contact:
Re: How to delete network mapping from replication job
The command:
runs to completion without any error (return code via $? is True). But the TargetNetwork doesn't get updated as expected.
Nan
Code: Select all
Set-VBRViReplicaJob -Job $job -SourceNetwork $srcVBRNetwork -TargetNetwork $trgVBRNetwork -EnableNetworkMapping
Nan
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20413
- Liked: 2301 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: How to delete network mapping from replication job
Can you also share the portion where source and target networks get assigned to variables?
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 6035
- Liked: 2860 times
- Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
- Full Name: Tom Sightler
- Contact:
Re: How to delete network mapping from replication job
I've run into this before. Here's a small example of code I use which wipes the existing mapping and saves that to the job just prior to setting the new mapping.
Code: Select all
# Remove the current NetworkMappings node if it already exist (possible bug)
if ($job.Options.Options.RootNode.NetworkMappings) {
$job.Options.Options.RootNode.RemoveChild($job.Options.Options.RootNode.SelectSingleNode("//NetworkMappings"))
}
Set-VBRJobOptions -Job $job -Options $job.Options
# Set the new mapping
Set-VBRViReplicaJob -Job $job -EnableNetworkMapping -SourceNetwork $src_net_map -TargetNetwork $tgt_net_map
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 22
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Oct 12, 2016 3:17 pm
- Full Name: Nan Zhang
- Contact:
Re: How to delete network mapping from replication job
Thanks! That's exactly what I am after.
Unfortunately this code has the side effect of removing any existing VM mapping as well. Not sure why this would be the case as the the line for removing the mapping refers to "//NetworkMappings".
Unfortunately this code has the side effect of removing any existing VM mapping as well. Not sure why this would be the case as the the line for removing the mapping refers to "//NetworkMappings".
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 6035
- Liked: 2860 times
- Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
- Full Name: Tom Sightler
- Contact:
Re: How to delete network mapping from replication job
I think this might be a bug in Set-VBRJobOptions, but I believe you can save them and remap easily enough, although I can't seem to dig up my example code for that.
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 22
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Oct 12, 2016 3:17 pm
- Full Name: Nan Zhang
- Contact:
Re: How to delete network mapping from replication job
I have a script to map VM replicas (taken from this forum and modified to my needs) so the work-around now would be to perform the network mapping first and then the VM replica mapping after.
Thanks again!
Thanks again!
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests