PowerShell script exchange
Post Reply
TommyB
Expert
Posts: 122
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 9:46 am
Full Name: Thomas Braun
Location: Germany.Europe.Terra.Sol.Milkyway.Localgroup.Virgo
Contact:

Powershell start menu entry missing

Post by TommyB » Feb 09, 2015 8:59 am

Hi,

I wanted to start playing around with veeam powershell scripting but the start menu entry under veeam/tools is not present.

Running BPS_X64.msi did not add the menu entry.

I managed to make it work by calling C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\install-veeamtoolkit.ps1 from the normal powershell prompt, but how can I install this permanently without having to type the command every time I start powershell?

I'm not using powershell on a regular basis so please bare with me if I'm asking something obvious :-)

Thomas

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17419
Liked: 1548 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Powershell start menu entry missing

Post by veremin » Feb 09, 2015 10:29 am

Assuming the installation process went fine, corresponding PS menu should be shown there. Anyway, while working with PS snap-in outside of our GUI, you have to access to our commandlets you have to add the snap-in first, using Add-PSSnapin VeeamPSSnapin. Thanks.

TommyB
Expert
Posts: 122
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 9:46 am
Full Name: Thomas Braun
Location: Germany.Europe.Terra.Sol.Milkyway.Localgroup.Virgo
Contact:

Re: Powershell start menu entry missing

Post by TommyB » Feb 16, 2015 10:25 am 1 person likes this post

Here is what I did:

Created C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\profile.ps1 with the following content:

Add-PSSnapin VeeamPSSnapin

That way the Veeam snapin is automatically available for all powershell instances.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17419
Liked: 1548 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Powershell start menu entry missing

Post by veremin » Feb 16, 2015 10:50 am

Yep, adding snap-in inside the profile.ps1 automatically populates it for all users of the computer and for all shells, but what about PS icon not showing in VB&R menu? Did you fix it somehow? Thanks.

TommyB
Expert
Posts: 122
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 9:46 am
Full Name: Thomas Braun
Location: Germany.Europe.Terra.Sol.Milkyway.Localgroup.Virgo
Contact:

Re: Powershell start menu entry missing

Post by TommyB » Feb 23, 2015 8:06 am

v.Eremin wrote:Yep, adding snap-in inside the profile.ps1 automatically populates it for all users of the computer and for all shells, but what about PS icon not showing in VB&R menu? Did you fix it somehow? Thanks.
Hi Vladimir,

no, could not fix this. But with the current solution I don't care for the additional icon :-)

Thomas

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests