Management reporting and documentation
Post Reply
ic_mcourtney
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 22, 2016 7:15 am
Full Name: mcourtney
Contact:

Backup Billing bug with vCloud jobs

Post by ic_mcourtney » Jan 04, 2018 10:47 pm

I've come across what seems to be a bug with the Veeam ONE Backup Billing reporting.

When reporting on a vCloud Backup Job, Veeam ONE reports 'Total VMs' as the sum of the number of vApps and VMs within the backup job.
I would expect it to report only the number of VMs, which would align to how VBR reports license usage (i.e. VBR only counts the number of VMs (and ignores vApps) when calculating license usage).

In the screenshot shown below the VBR vCloud Backup Job that Veeam ONE is reporting on includes 5x vApps, each of which contain 1x VM each (5x VMs total).
I would expect Veeam ONE to report 'Total VMs: 5', but instead it reports 'Total VMs: 10'.

Image


I've raised support case 02452005 with Veeam Support, but I'm curious to know if anyone else has observed the same behaviour in their environment?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 711 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup Billing bug with vCloud jobs

Post by Shestakov » Jan 05, 2018 5:43 am

Hello Matty,
Indeed that looks like a bug, thanks for contacting the support team. If the bug is confirmed, you should get hot fix. I believe fixing the bug will not take long.

ic_mcourtney
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 22, 2016 7:15 am
Full Name: mcourtney
Contact:

Re: Backup Billing bug with vCloud jobs

Post by ic_mcourtney » Jan 13, 2018 12:04 am

Hi Nikita,

I've done some more research and the root cause of the bug may actually be in B&R, not Veeam ONE. I've posted about my findings here if you're interested.

Regards,

Matty

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 711 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup Billing bug with vCloud jobs

Post by Shestakov » Jan 13, 2018 1:06 pm

Thanks for the update, Matty.
Once the bug is confirmed, R&D team has started to fix it. Even if VBR bug was confirmed by Veeam ONE support team.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests