Backup to tape job (nothing to backup)

Everything about backing up to tape

Backup to tape job (nothing to backup)

Veeam Logoby choldings » Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:53 pm

Yeah, that's the funky part... the e-mails state which tape was written to but because nothing was written to tape and the e-mails are still marked as a success, they have no idea how to handle it.

I just logged on and looked at it through the application itself and to be honest I don't understand what happened either. Two of our backup to tape jobs didn't write anything to tape but claim success. They even identify the vbk as a file to backup but 0 files & 0 directories get written. Very strange.

We'll sort out the application access here but perhaps I will have to open a SR to figure out what happened with these two tape jobs.

Thanks :)
choldings
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:00 pm
Full Name: Colin

Backup to tape job (nothing to backup)

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:55 pm

How do you configure your tape jobs?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19565
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Backup to tape job (nothing to backup)

Veeam Logoby choldings » Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:09 pm

The disk job kicks them off when it completes. The times seem to make sense (unless I'm overlooking something) on the files, jobs etc...

The tape job will grab a tape if needed from the Free pool but in this case it already had a tape available to write to in the media set. There is still a tape in the Free pool that was never touched so I assume it didn't need another one.

There were no errors anywhere. Everything is green success from the application to the emails that got sent out. It just chose not to write the vbk to tape even though it looks like it was well aware of it. It even said it added the vbk to it's backup list before saying it wrote zero files or directories. Strange right? there must be some sort of explanation that I'm just overlooking.
choldings
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:00 pm
Full Name: Colin

Backup to tape job (nothing to backup)

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:56 pm

Do you offload incremental backups as well? What backup mode does your source job use?

P.S. I will split this topic since we are now discussing another problem.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19565
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Backup to tape job (nothing to backup)

Veeam Logoby choldings » Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:05 pm

Yes we do. I think you just pointed me in the right direction. We had another person managing these jobs recently and it looks like they changed the backup mode to be Incremental with synthetics enabled and an active full scheduled.

Our normal jobs do Incremental with ONLY an active full scheduled. Looks like someone forgot to uncheck the synthetic option. Do you think that this may have caused the behavior we are seeing?
choldings
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:00 pm
Full Name: Colin

Re: Backup to tape job (nothing to backup)

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:21 pm

Ok, but can you confirm that the corresponding checkbox to offload increments in the backup to tape job is enabled? This is the only reason I can think of right now...
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19565
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Backup to tape job (nothing to backup)

Veeam Logoby choldings » Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:27 pm

"Process Incremental backup files" is checked.
choldings
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:00 pm
Full Name: Colin

Re: Backup to tape job (nothing to backup)

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:39 pm

Hmm...then I would suggest letting our support staff verify the setup and job logs. Can you please open the case on this?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19565
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Backup to tape job (nothing to backup)

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:41 am

I'm wondering whether you're using patch#3, as most of these issues has been fixed there. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13285
Liked: 971 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests