Backup To Tape with multiple Veeam Servers

Everything about backing up to tape

Backup To Tape with multiple Veeam Servers

Veeam Logoby alexgr » Tue May 03, 2016 12:47 pm

Hello,
I have an short question:

I have a server with local storage as repository server. Can two different Veeam Backup & Replication Server (same version) use that backup repository (my guess is yes) and what about automatic import of backups of the other Veeam server? Do I need to use powershell scripts to rescan the repository every now and then?

Let's say one Backup server writes down some backup.
The second has a permanent running copy job (copying the entire repository), would it recognize new backup files automatically?



Best regards
Alex
alexgr
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 8:46 am

Re: Backup To Tape with multiple Veeam Servers

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 03, 2016 1:00 pm

Hi Alex, could you please elaborate on the exact scenario, since I'm not sure why there's a "tape" reference in the topic header? Basically, two backup servers can write to the same repository server provided they are both at the same Veeam B&R patch level.

Periodic automatic rescans will import the backups written by another backup server to the same repository folder. However, to be able to use them as source for the backup copy job, you would need to have a dummy backup job mapped to them.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15083
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup To Tape with multiple Veeam Servers

Veeam Logoby alexgr » Tue May 03, 2016 1:06 pm

I'm sorry. My initial thought was a bit different.

I have a VBR server on my main site with a tape server connected. Due my bad internet connection on my remote site, I need to deploy a second VBR server there.
The problem now is that I want the backups of the second VBR server on tape and my guess would that I cannot use a tape server with multiple veeam servers (there was the topic). Is that correct?
alexgr
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 8:46 am

Re: Backup To Tape with multiple Veeam Servers

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue May 03, 2016 1:17 pm

Correct, as there should be only one backup server interacting with a given tape server. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13543
Liked: 1002 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup To Tape with multiple Veeam Servers

Veeam Logoby alexgr » Tue May 03, 2016 1:32 pm

Then thank you very much,
especially with the hint for the dummy backup job.
alexgr
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 8:46 am

Re: Backup To Tape with multiple Veeam Servers

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue May 03, 2016 1:43 pm

You're welcome. I think it also makes sense to create backup copy job on a backup server that has tape server added; should ease management of different backup activities and help to avoid jobs overlap. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13543
Liked: 1002 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup To Tape with multiple Veeam Servers

Veeam Logoby skrause » Tue May 03, 2016 3:55 pm

Is your internet connection at the remote site bad in the sense of how little bandwidth it has or in the sense that it is unreliable in terms of uptime?

If it is just bandwidth related, you might want to look at having a repository in the remote site but run all the jobs from the main site. With interaction proxies and mount servers, the bandwidth required between the management server and the remote site will be pretty minimal. This would allow you to use the one tape server to archive multiple sites. (How you get the data to the location via backup copy or just running the tape job from the remote repository is dependent on a number of factors)

Running all of the jobs off of one server removes the need to rescan the shared repository/make dummy jobs to make them accessible to tape.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect
skrause
Expert
 
Posts: 306
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause

[MERGED] Multiple Veeam B&R server with one tape server

Veeam Logoby csdn » Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:24 am

Hi

I have a new tape backup device attached to a physical Windows 2016 server with Veeam B&R installed on it.

My actual infrastructure for backup is 3 virtual servers with B&R 9.5 u1 and Ent+ licence. Each B&R servers have Backup schedule on it and a Backup repository on a San. So 3 Volumes on a San.

My question is how to setup this infra and that the new tape backup device can see the backup job of the 3 B&R servers and can make a backup to tape for each of the 3 backup servers.

Thanks
csdn
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:03 am
Full Name: Sylvain Marion

Re: Backup To Tape with multiple Veeam Servers

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:05 am

Hi Sylvain,
As stated above only one backup server should be interacting with a tape server. So the best way is to use backup copy job with desired backups as a source of tape backup job.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5017
Liked: 417 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

[MERGED] Multiple Veeam servers and one tape server

Veeam Logoby crazylefty » Thu Jun 29, 2017 9:46 pm

Hi all,
I've got three Veeam servers in two different locations, backing up to four shared repositories.
We have just recently purchased a Dell tape library, and have it connected to my main site's Veeam and backing up just fine.
Now i want to get the backups created by the other two Veeam servers backed up to tape as well.
I've tried just backing up the repository, but it find 0 Files to backup since its not handling the backup jobs.
I heard that you can map a backup and create dummy jobs, but I'm at a loss as to how to accomplish this.
Can someone give me some pointers?
I've got main backup jobs, and backup copy jobs for each backup to different repositories
Thanks!
crazylefty
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 7:06 pm
Full Name: Matt Hart

Re: Backup To Tape with multiple Veeam Servers

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sun Jul 02, 2017 11:10 am

Hi Matt,
Indeed multiple VBR Servers cannot share one tape server, however you may use backup copy job running on "main" VBR server to make backups appear on tapes.
Here is another good related topic.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5017
Liked: 417 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests