Can veeam tape diag tools run during active tape job?

Everything about backing up to tape

Can veeam tape diag tools run during active tape job?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Wed May 25, 2016 10:43 am

Related to case 01808088

I was asked to run some tape diag tools as below:

I'm attaching our tape diagnostics tools to this email. Please extract tape-tools.zip to C:\temp on Veeam Server.
Then follow these steps:
•run command prompt as administrator
•cd c:\temp\3rd_p_tape_detector
•discover.exe -vp > discover.log
•cd c:\temp\Veeam_TapeHwTest
•Veeam.Backup.TapeHwTest.exe changer0 tape0 > TapeHwTest.log
•cd c:\temp\ScsiEnumeration
•ScsiEnumeration.exe > ScsiEnumeration.log

Can I run these whilst I have an active tape job running? (I've restarted the job because it takes so long to run I can't keep waiting for a response from Support when I have no idea how long I'll wait - I have also replied immediately to support to ask this question but, again, I have no idea how long I'll wait for the answer)

I need to know the answer sooner rather than later so I know if I need to kill/restart the job yet again.

(I can understand if a query back to a ticket requires some investigation etc. & don't expect immediate replies to such questions but it seems to me that most cases get a response once per day on average, if that, which is mind-numbingly frustrating with backup software as the nature of it (jobs that take hours to run, or can only run out of hours etc.) means that it can easily take 2/3 days for a question, response, test, feedback cycle to complete).
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Can veeam tape diag tools run during active tape job?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu May 26, 2016 5:52 pm

Hi Paul,

Tape tools were made specifically for support team, so it took some time to find the answers. Sorry for the delay and thankfully support team was faster.

P.S. If your case is not treated properly, you can use the Talk to a Manager option at the Customer Portal.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Can veeam tape diag tools run during active tape job?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Thu May 26, 2016 7:22 pm

As it happened the re-run of the tape job I'd started completed by the time I got the hotfix anyway (4.5hrs later) so it was a non-issue. As mentioned in the other topic the hotfix is installed so it's "watch this space" time...
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests