Connecting a FC library to Fabric Interconnect = VM joy?

Everything about backing up to tape

Connecting a FC library to Fabric Interconnect = VM joy?

Veeam Logoby dgapinski » Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:19 pm

Hello,

I am trying to see if my thought is even possible. In my mind, I can imagine our Cisco UCS blades running VMware having no problem communicating to a Fiber Channel-connected tape library over the same fabric interconnect that connects the blades to our SAN. The goal provided would be to eliminate the last physical server; i.e., that Veeam can run within a VM on the blades. Is there any reason why this would not work? Our vendor was skeptical that this would in fact work.

Thanks for your thoughts!
dgapinski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:09 pm
Full Name: Dan Gapinski

Re: Connecting a FC library to Fabric Interconnect = VM joy?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:13 pm

Hi, did you know that as per the vSphere 5.x Release Notes, VMware does not support Tape Drives connected directly to ESXi 5.x? Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21385
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Connecting a FC library to Fabric Interconnect = VM joy?

Veeam Logoby quadstor » Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am

Would fibre channel/PCI passthrough work ? That way you are working directly with the tape devices from within the VM. Haven't tried it, just guessing that it might work.
quadstor
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:21 am

Re: Connecting a FC library to Fabric Interconnect = VM joy?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Dec 06, 2013 1:07 pm

It might work - but that would be unsupported, and any unsupported configuration means "on your own risk'.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Connecting a FC library to Fabric Interconnect = VM joy?

Veeam Logoby dgapinski » Mon Dec 16, 2013 3:30 pm

Understood - things to consider then! Thanks for your responses, much appreciated.
dgapinski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:09 pm
Full Name: Dan Gapinski

Re: Connecting a FC library to Fabric Interconnect = VM joy?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Sun Dec 22, 2013 1:45 pm

Another problem with this scenario is that VB&R VM will be pinned down to the one specific host; which means most VMware features will not work (vMotion, Storage vMotion , HA , DRS). Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Connecting a FC library to Fabric Interconnect = VM joy?

Veeam Logoby dgapinski » Fri Dec 27, 2013 9:41 pm

Too bad that Finance put the clamp on us so that we cannot buy the library anymore and the question is moot. Thanks for the future answer to my future question tho!
dgapinski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:09 pm
Full Name: Dan Gapinski

Re: Connecting a FC library to Fabric Interconnect = VM joy?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Dec 27, 2013 11:04 pm

Dan,
Thank you for the heads up! If you wish you can test tape functionality with VTL like Falconstor or Quadstor - they are both pretty solid, however Quadstor is free.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Connecting a FC library to Fabric Interconnect = VM joy?

Veeam Logoby stevenrodenburg1 » Fri Jan 03, 2014 11:27 am

Please note that using FC Tapedrives inside VM's through mechanisms like NPIV is a Pain. Don't even go down that path.
Use a physical server to control a tape-device.
stevenrodenburg1
Expert
 
Posts: 115
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:11 am
Location: Switzerland
Full Name: Steven Rodenburg


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests