Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
ober72
Service Provider
Posts: 372
Liked: 46 times
Joined: Jan 24, 2014 4:10 pm
Full Name: Geoff Burke
Location: CANADA
Contact:

Duplicate tapes

Post by ober72 » Oct 14, 2017 2:20 pm

Hi Folks,

This might be a very silly question but I have never had this experience before. Our tape supplier by accident sent out duplicates of tapes that had already been use in Veeam. Then to make matters worse these tapes got mixed in with the real tapes when being sent offsite. So now I have 3 duplicate empty tapes mixed in with tapes with data.

Can I load these tapes to check to see which ones have data without affecting the Veeam db? To be more precise I need to find the empty tapes and send them back, so I will load tape A for example and if this is the one with Veeam tape data then fine and I can send back the empty duplicate Tape A to the supplier.

But what if I load the Empty Tape A? Could this potentially wipe the setting in the DB for what files were on the full Tape A?

My guess is that even if that happened if I then removed the Tape and loaded the Tape A with data it would add it back.

Again a bit of a Tape newbie here :)

cheers
Geoff Burke
Veeam Certified Architect

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15221
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Duplicate tapes

Post by v.Eremin » Oct 16, 2017 2:12 pm

You should be fine with inserting and inventorying tapes one by one. You should stop, whenever a necessary one with veeam data on it is found. Thanks.

ober72
Service Provider
Posts: 372
Liked: 46 times
Joined: Jan 24, 2014 4:10 pm
Full Name: Geoff Burke
Location: CANADA
Contact:

Re: Duplicate tapes

Post by ober72 » Oct 16, 2017 7:23 pm

Ok thanks Vladimir

cheers
Geoff Burke
Veeam Certified Architect

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests