New tape media set to create full backup Veeam backup data

Everything about backing up to tape

New tape media set to create full backup Veeam backup data

Veeam Logoby ian0x0r » Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:31 am

Hi,

I have a scenario where by a set of backup tapes are rotated on a weekly basis, running over 2 weeks. Every day a backup to tape job runs and copy's the full and incremental VBK + VIB files. I have 2 media pools labelled Full and Incremental and once a week I have set the option to create a new media set.
All of this works great, however what I would like to achieve is for Veeam to start writing everything back to tape in the new media set rather than assuming it can rely on the previous media sets for restores. The new media set will only have incremental changes written to it since last tape backup.
The only method I have found of getting round this issue is to remove the previous weeks tapes from the catalogue and return them to the free pool. Is there a way to either set an option so all data is written to a new media set or automate the removal of old media sets from the tape catalogue?

Thanks :mrgreen: ,

Ian
https://www.snurf.co.uk
ian0x0r
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 189
Liked: 32 times
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:53 am
Location: UK
Full Name: Ian Sanderson

Re: New tape media set to create full backup Veeam backup da

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Oct 15, 2013 11:24 am

Hello Ian,

Unfortunately, there no option to pull all rotation chain from the very beginning to newly created media set automatically.
The new media set will only have incremental changes written to it since last tape backup.

The only workaround I see is to modify your original rotation with one additional synthetic or active full back up at the begging of the second media set usage. If you do so at the beginning of your media set you would have the full backup with all the related increments
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: New tape media set to create full backup Veeam backup da

Veeam Logoby ian0x0r » Tue Oct 15, 2013 12:05 pm

Thanks for the reply Dmitry.

I thought this maybe the case, but worth an ask.

Thanks,

Ian
https://www.snurf.co.uk
ian0x0r
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 189
Liked: 32 times
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:53 am
Location: UK
Full Name: Ian Sanderson


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests