Tapes are not completely filled

Everything about backing up to tape

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Tue Jul 05, 2016 8:36 am

No this is HP MSL2024 with LTO-6 & latest f/w & drivers.
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Tue Jul 05, 2016 11:43 am

Thanks for the reply.
Could you contact Veeam technical support for logs review to investigate the real issue why the tape has 100GB left?
Once you do, please post support case number for us to chime in if needed.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:11 pm

Thanks. Now logged as case #01844888
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Jul 07, 2016 11:52 am

Update.
It turned out that 100GB is HP`s EOM (end of media), so VBR behavior is expected.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Thu Jul 07, 2016 1:07 pm 1 person likes this post

Ah, ok, how kind of HP to waste our tape! Oh well, thanks for confirmation..
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 504
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Jul 07, 2016 2:41 pm

You are welcome.
They probably did it for a purpose. Usually quality of the tape itself is worse closer to the end, so data integrity may not be guaranteed by the vendor.
But you better ask HP.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

[MERGED] VBR 9.0.0.1491 Tape Media Capacity Usage

Veeam Logoby Didi7 » Mon Aug 01, 2016 12:56 pm

Hello everybody,

since a couple of weeks, we have one VBR 9.0.0.1491 backup system, which serves as a backup System for 2 different customers. Both customers have 11 VMs in their B2D-jobs, which result in the following deduplicated disk-usage-capacity in the customer's respective backup-repository ...

Customer A = 4.63TB used capacity in Customer's A backup repository
Customer B = 2.51TB used capacity in Customer's B backup repository

VBR 9.0.0.1491 works like a charm, the only thing I would like to discuss, is the fact, that VBR doesn't seem to use the full capacity of an LTO6 tape media, see here ...

Customer A:

Image

As you can see here, lots of space is unused on LTO6 tape media?

Also Customer B uses 2 LTO6 tape media. Ok, in the meantime 2.51TB is used, so that 2 LTO6 tape medias would be necessary anyway, because the deduplicated B2D data is already compressed and we don't compress data on tape again.

What's the reason?

Regards,
Didi7
Using Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 2 on every backup server here!
Didi7
Expert
 
Posts: 228
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:38 pm

We rely on information coming directly from a device. The device instructs us to stop appending data to a particular media, whenever it finds it necessary. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Veeam Logoby Didi7 » Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:32 pm

v.Eremin wrote:We rely on information coming directly from a device. The device instructs us to stop appending data to a particular media, whenever it finds it necessary. Thanks.


Unbelievable! HP propagates the net capacity of an LTO6 tape media is 2.4TB but in reality it is only 2.3TB !!!

I have a Déjà-vu! Harddrive capacity?

Well, at least, it is an explanation, why the full propagated capacity of a 2.4TB LTO6 tape media cannot be fully occupied.

Regards,
Didi7
Using Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 2 on every backup server here!
Didi7
Expert
 
Posts: 228
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Veeam Logoby Didi7 » Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:39 pm

Really funny, that Symantec Backup Exec can successfully hide the fact, that the full capacity of the propagated net capacity cannot be used. I first stumbled about that in VBR!

I never used LTO7 tape media so far, but if 3-5% are left unused, this could mean up to 312GB wasted!

Funny!
Using Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 2 on every backup server here!
Didi7
Expert
 
Posts: 228
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am

Previous

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests