Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Everything about backing up to tape

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jan 14, 2014 4:11 pm

Will veeam see that some active fulls are missing an re-write them.

Yep, this is the way product works. However, according to the plan, this implementation is going to be improved in the next release.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby paps40 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:06 pm

Dell TL2000 & Veeam Tape Job Compression Issues Update

I would like to post an update about my previous post on compression not working. Veeam level 2 support helped me with this issue. This issue has now been resolved. It turns out that compression was working all along. It's just that veeam was not reporting it correctly. When you view compression under Backups < Tape < R-Click on Job Name < Look at compression. These are the compression stats of the veeam backup job not the backup to tape stats as one would assume.

In order to verify compression I had to look at what was stored on the tape and cross reference that with the size of the backups in the repository. I was able to fit 3 active fulls totaling 6.18 TB on 1 tape. I hope the tape reporting gets better in the next release.
paps40
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:10 pm
Full Name: Peter Pappas

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jan 17, 2014 8:43 am

As Tom has pointed out, false compression report coming from Veeam side is something expected, since, in this case, it's tape drive/library that is doing compression.

Anyway, thanks for the feedback; much appreciated.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] : PowerVault TL2000 with iSCSI Controller Card

Veeam Logoby dgapinski » Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:41 pm

Hey Lewis, now that Veeam does support direct access to tape, I was wondering if you have it talking to your tape loader directly & working well. I am looking at this possible configuration myself.
dgapinski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:09 pm
Full Name: Dan Gapinski

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:57 pm

Hi Dan,

I've merged your post to the different discussion regarding VB&R tape functionality and Dell TL2000 device.

In general, the said device should work fine in conjunction with VB&R, as long as, non-exclusive drivers are installed. For more detailed information, kindly, see answers provided above.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby dgapinski » Mon Feb 10, 2014 2:46 pm

Thanks for that - looks like a very worthy project if you don't have the coin for a super-awesome new tape loader with iSCSI built in. I will post if I can verify that the config works.
dgapinski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 41
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:09 pm
Full Name: Dan Gapinski

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Feb 10, 2014 2:51 pm

Yes, the lack of ISCSI functionality can be currently bypassed by using certain tape redirecting utilities. As to the future, we're planning to support libraries and standalone drives connected to VB&R proxy servers in one of the next releases.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby ysrinath24 » Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:16 am

The tape drive itself is installed and recognized by Veeam, but it is not showing anything in Media or Media Pools .i am using veeam backup version 8.0 trail .after i installed nonexclusive.exe also it is not showing anything what to do please help any one .i am using first time veeam backup
C:\Dell\Drivers\7NH5M\7NH5M\Windows2008x64_R2 (I had already obtained the driver that Dmitry references above)
ran install_nonexclusive.exe
ysrinath24
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:03 am
Full Name: yelchuri srinath

Re: [MERGED] Dell PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby ysrinath24 » Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:27 am

Shralok wrote:The tape drive itself is installed and recognized by Veeam, but it is not showing anything in Media or Media Pools - I can't even add a Media Pool.


now i am facing same problem how you overcome this problem .even though i installed nonexclusive.exe .i am not able to see media and media pools please help me ?
ysrinath24
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:03 am
Full Name: yelchuri srinath

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Nov 25, 2015 3:21 pm 1 person likes this post

ysrinath24,

Can you see the library with the drives in the UI? Did you perform a library inventory?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby ysrinath24 » Thu Nov 26, 2015 5:56 am

yes Dima P. i am seeing tape library with 1 drive in the ui and also i am able to inventory the library but while inventorying i am seeing messages like below in a small window.

1.processing started with date and time.
2.Drive1(drive id :Tape 0)locked successfully.
3.Drive1(drive id :Tape 0)is empty.
4.completed successfully with date and time.

i am able to inventory the library and i am able to add media pools but the problem is it's not showing anything ion media and media pool.i have images to send but how i want send here?

in tape infrastructure
+ Libraries IBMULT3580-TD4(tape 0)
+drives Drive1(Drive ID: Tape0) model:IBMUlT3580-TD4 state :Empty

when i click on drive1 properties the below properties are showing like this

Model :IBMULT3580-TD4
server :CEAD-DC(system name)
ysrinath24
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:03 am
Full Name: yelchuri srinath

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:34 pm

Libraries IBMULT3580-TD4(tape 0) Drive1(Drive ID: Tape0)model :IBMUlT3580-TD4

It seems that the changer driver was not properly installed. Go to Windows Device Manager > Medium Changer Driver and remove the default Unknown Medium Changer. Install the vendor driver instead (I bet the reference should be somewhere in this thread)

P.S. Unknown Medium Changer support (or failover to SCSI commands) will be available in the v9 version out of the box, meanwhile, please install the proper drivers.

Image
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby ysrinath24 » Fri Nov 27, 2015 11:47 am

:oops: in my device manager it is just showing 1 tape driver alone (IBM ULTRIUM -TD4 sequencial device ) not showing any medium changer devices.to detetct medium changer driver what to do ? we are backing up data with fiber channel.
ysrinath24
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:03 am
Full Name: yelchuri srinath

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Nov 27, 2015 1:29 pm

It should be as simple as:

1. Connect your Library to the server
2. Scan for hardware changes in the device manager
3. Install the proper drivers

If that does not work – check the library manual for detailed instructions.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Backup to Dell's PowerVault TL2000

Veeam Logoby ysrinath24 » Mon Nov 30, 2015 7:27 am

Thank you very much Dima P. its working now i changed sequence to random . :lol:
ysrinath24
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:03 am
Full Name: yelchuri srinath

PreviousNext

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests