Discussions specific to tape backups
uebektas
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 13, 2017 12:09 pm
Full Name: Ünsal Bektas
Contact:

[MERGED] WORM Backup on tape

Post by uebektas » Nov 13, 2017 12:14 pm

Hello,

we have a problem with our Backup to WORM tapes.

If i have a worm tape with 800GB, the first backup runs without problems and he writes 500GB on the tape. At the second backup he cannot write on the rest of 300GB on the worm tape.

i contacted the veeam support and he said that is actually not supported. i think its a fuction that veeam must have or have someone an other solution for this problem ?

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15792
Liked: 1246 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: WORM Tapes

Post by v.Eremin » Nov 13, 2017 12:55 pm

Your post has been merged into existing discussion regarding WORM tapes. Kindly, check answers provided above.

Thanks.

mma
Service Provider
Posts: 89
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Dec 22, 2011 9:12 am
Full Name: Marcel
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: WORM Tapes

Post by mma » Nov 22, 2017 4:23 pm

+1 for WORM support.

Was a bit surprised / shocked that Veeam does not support it yet.
The first request in this thread is 4 years old in two weeks. LTO Support without WORM - that's not really Enterprise!

We need it for archival compliance reasons. Software “read only” protection will not solve this btw.

valentin.ciobanu
Service Provider
Posts: 7
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 09, 2016 5:49 pm
Full Name: Valentin Ciobanu
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: WORM Tapes

Post by valentin.ciobanu » Mar 26, 2018 10:02 am

Hello,

We need to know when this feature will be included in Veeam. In what version and when is this version will be released?

Thanks !

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9445
Liked: 733 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: WORM Tapes

Post by Dima P. » Mar 26, 2018 1:28 pm

Hi folks,

This feature is planned but I cant give you the ETA right now. Thank you.

SimonS
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jan 26, 2018 11:19 am
Full Name: Simon Setina
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: WORM Tapes

Post by SimonS » May 15, 2018 8:14 am

+1 for WORM support.

We need it for archival compliance reasons.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9445
Liked: 733 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: WORM Tapes

Post by Dima P. » Jan 22, 2019 6:56 pm

Hi guys,

New Veeam B&R 9.5 has just arrived and it contains the demanded iteration with WORM media. Starting from Update 4 you can create a dedicated WORM media pools (both simple and GFS) and fill those with WORM media.

Here is the link to detailed What's New with all features and improvements listed.

Cheers!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot], opg70 and 10 guests