Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
mcbrineellis
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 09, 2016 4:53 pm
Full Name: Connor McBrine-Ellis
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Can't import Veeam Agent backups into VBR

Post by mcbrineellis » Jun 29, 2017 6:08 pm

Hey guys,

So I had a support case open (ID 02198000) regarding an issue I was having importing backups generated by the Veeam Agent for Windows and sent to my Veeam Cloud Connect provider server as a target.

As a sort of "poor man's DR" we had a POC with a customer which would involve us importing his backup from our VCC repo to another VBR server on our end, in case of emergency, and then restoring that backup to our vCloud Director environment.

The Veeam engineer told me:
I talked this over with our Agent for Windows team and they confirmed that we do not have a way to import the backups into a separate VBR server like we are currently attempting to do. This is the reason for the errors and why the import function is disappearing.

If you would like to see this functionality in future versions I would recommend making a post on our forums labeled as a feature request where our developers can let you know if this is already in the works or not.

Please let us know if you need anything else and/or if it is ok to close this case.

Thank you,
Jakob Cooney
Veeam Cloud Engineer
Will this ever be possible? Can anyone provide additional feedback as to why it's not currently possible? For sure the error should be a bit clearer.. imports would seem to work as there was no error message shown other than in the logs.. but then nothing would show up under "Backups".

Connor

Technogod
Expert
Posts: 124
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Apr 11, 2017 3:52 am
Contact:

Re: Can't import Veeam Agent backups into VBR

Post by Technogod » Jun 30, 2017 12:31 am 1 person likes this post


Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10328
Liked: 837 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Can't import Veeam Agent backups into VBR

Post by Dima P. » Jul 02, 2017 9:07 pm

Hi folks,

The provided information is incorrect – VAW supports automatic mapping to the original backup. In order to make it work you need to store backup files at the original path (just preserve the folder names while copying backup files and make rescan) A small correction - the link. Thanks.

P.S. I’ll let support team know that it works, sorry for that.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests