CRC Error

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Re: CRC Error

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sat May 06, 2017 2:34 pm

Martin,

Bad block issue refers to the problem with your hard drive. If you restored to the same drive – it is expected. Kindly, check your hard disk with check disk (full scan), at some point third party tools, mentioned in this thread, are better in terms of bad block detection.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6690
Liked: 478 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: CRC Error

Veeam Logoby majones » Sat May 06, 2017 11:39 pm

Hi Dima. I've done some experimenting and I think there is a problem with "bad blocks skipped" messaging. In my case, it correctly appeared for my original disk and I managed to make a complete backup using "SkipBadBlocks (DWORD) = 1" in the registry. I then restored this backup to a new disk that had no bad blocks, and confirmed that backups from the new disk ran fine with "SkipBadBlocks (DWORD) = 0" (as I would expect). But if I left "SkipBadBlocks (DWORD) = 1" then I got the "bad blocks skipped" message, which must be a carry-over from the first disk affected by bad blocks but isn't appropriate for the new disk. In fact, I wasted quite a bit of time testing the new disk for bad blocks because of this message. I appreciate that you would want to flag in some way a restoration from a backup with skipped blocks, but not with a message that indicates that the new disk onto which the backup was restored itself had bad blocks. Sorry if this is posted in the wrong thread, but I haven't seen discussion of the SkipBadBlocks functionality anywhere else.
majones
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 11:13 pm
Full Name: Martin Jones

[MERGED] Veeam EP 1.5 to Veeam B&R 8.0

Veeam Logoby AlexLeadingEdge » Mon Jul 31, 2017 9:24 pm

Hi guys,

We have a client with Veeam B&R 8.0 running because they have a Server 2003 machine running specialised software (in a DMZ for everything except a connection to the backup server). On another server we have Veeam B&R is backing up a Veeam EP 1.5 on a Windows Server 2012 R2 machine, which acts as a replicated file server. Each time the backup kicks off we see this error message:

26/07/2017 3:16:19 a.m. :: Error: Data error (cyclic redundancy check). Failed to read data from the file [\\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy4]. The block at offset 65164804096 (length 1048576) is corrupt. Failed to upload disk. Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.SyncDisk}. Exception from server: Data error (cyclic redundancy check).

I tried to submit a case but it just says "please upgrade to the latest version before submitting a case". My understanding is that I can't use Veeam Agent 2.0 with Veeam B&R 8.0. Can someone correct me if I'm mistaken?

They have a valid support licence for another 690 days, and plan to upgrade to Veeam B&R 9.5 once the Server 2003 machine has been deprecated.

Also, can someone also recommend what I should do to fix this error? I'm going to run a CHKDSK on the C Drive after hours but if anyone has another idea on how to fix this specific error I'd love to hear it.
AlexLeadingEdge
Expert
 
Posts: 161
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:42 pm

Re: CRC Error

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Aug 01, 2017 12:00 pm

Alex,

Take a look at this post. With the described regkey you get the ability to skip bad block on your hard drive in v1.5 Starting from 2.0 this functionality is enabled by default.
I tried to submit a case but it just says "please upgrade to the latest version before submitting a case".

Should be fixed. The case logic was accidentally disabled for 1.5 (we usually do that 2 months after release published in auto updates)
My understanding is that I can't use Veeam Agent 2.0 with Veeam B&R 8.0. Can someone correct me if I'm mistaken?

Correct. 2.0 does not work with Veeam B&R 8.0
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6690
Liked: 478 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: CRC Error

Veeam Logoby AlexLeadingEdge » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:13 pm

Hi Dima,

Thank you for the prompt reply. CHKDSK last night found 9 bad blocks. I have added the Registry change and restarted the backup. Will let you know how things go in two hours 8)
AlexLeadingEdge
Expert
 
Posts: 161
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:42 pm

Re: CRC Error

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:10 pm

Ouch, time to change the hard drive.

P.S. Keep in mind that this errors might be software related. In such case – you can back the drive up and then reformat it.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6690
Liked: 478 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: CRC Error

Veeam Logoby AlexLeadingEdge » Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:35 pm

Two good backups since the registry change, but Veeam 1.5 is still finding bad blocks, assumed that the drive is on its way out. We have scheduled a replacement of the C Drive and a clone of the OS partition, too many specialised programs to do a clean install unfortunately.
AlexLeadingEdge
Expert
 
Posts: 161
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:42 pm

Re: CRC Error

Veeam Logoby techgirl » Thu Aug 03, 2017 5:58 am

UPDATE: We followed ACER's built-in "reset" process per their instructions, and it worked to repair whatever error it was! :D
I had finally taken time to get all my necessary programs running on my old computer, and moved (restored) all my content using the "entire computer" backup forced with the registry key tweak. It's been a few weeks and I have not come across any issues in my files yet. I am going to keep using my Win 7 again, and my son will take over this one.
techgirl wrote:UPDATE: Thank you Dima, yes, neither chkdisk F nor R report any issue - no errors. DISM found no issue. sfc /scnannow - nothing. Acer's diagnostics found no error. I have since tried Seagate Seatools on it, which did find an error but could not repair it. Then I have noticed in Windows Event Viewer ->Windows Logs->System: "The device, \Device\Harddisk0\DR0, has a bad block." This error was there starting exactly when Veeam started failing. EVERY windows tool or diagnostic shows the drives "healthy" and no errors except 'event viewer'! I am thankful that Veeam brought error this to my attention! :)

Asus wants to do a full wipe and restore, so I have done file level backup of my content as a safeguard, I am now off to tweak that registry key to force an "entire computer" backup to complete.
techgirl
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 3:30 pm

Previous

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest