Does the full backup seed need to be recreated occaisionally

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Does the full backup seed need to be recreated occaisionally

Veeam Logoby walazono » Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:15 pm

I see the full backup will include newer incremental backups as the number of restore points is exceeded, or moved to a newer date. Has there ever been a problem where the original full backup seed becomes corrupt causing any future volume restores to have a problem?

Should I move the backup set to an archive folder and erase the destination of the backups to occasionally to force a new full backup to be created?

I was thinking of a monthly archive/erase for the 14 day restore point, but if it's not needed that's one less thing to do.

Thanks
walazono
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 3:40 pm
Full Name: WalaZ

Re: Does the full backup seed need to be recreated occaision

Veeam Logoby JaxIsland7575 » Mon Nov 30, 2015 10:34 pm

Just to clarify, what is your destination for the backup job, is it a Veeam repository or a USB drive / shared folder?
VMCE v9
JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 364
Liked: 98 times
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Location: NY, USA
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland

Re: Does the full backup seed need to be recreated occaision

Veeam Logoby walazono » Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:42 am

The backup destination would be a shared folder on a NAS device.

Thanks
walazono
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 3:40 pm
Full Name: WalaZ

Re: Does the full backup seed need to be recreated occaision

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Dec 02, 2015 2:48 pm

Hi walazono,
Has there ever been a problem where the original full backup seed becomes corrupt causing any future volume restores to have a problem?

Have not seen any issues related to backup file corruption since VEB was released. Just in case something happens with the backup chain – the new full backup will be created during the next job run.
Should I move the backup set to an archive folder and erase the destination of the backups to occasionally to force a new full backup to be created?

The default backup mode is forever incremental so no periodic full backups are supported. However, you can use a standalone full backup (not affected by retention settings) or change the backup destination in backup job settings if you want to start a new backup chain from scratch.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6253
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests