Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
walazono
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 30, 2015 3:40 pm
Full Name: WalaZ
Contact:

Does the full backup seed need to be recreated occaisionally

Post by walazono » Nov 30, 2015 4:15 pm

I see the full backup will include newer incremental backups as the number of restore points is exceeded, or moved to a newer date. Has there ever been a problem where the original full backup seed becomes corrupt causing any future volume restores to have a problem?

Should I move the backup set to an archive folder and erase the destination of the backups to occasionally to force a new full backup to be created?

I was thinking of a monthly archive/erase for the 14 day restore point, but if it's not needed that's one less thing to do.

Thanks

JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 388
Liked: 104 times
Joined: Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Re: Does the full backup seed need to be recreated occaision

Post by JaxIsland7575 » Nov 30, 2015 10:34 pm

Just to clarify, what is your destination for the backup job, is it a Veeam repository or a USB drive / shared folder?
VMCE v9

walazono
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 30, 2015 3:40 pm
Full Name: WalaZ
Contact:

Re: Does the full backup seed need to be recreated occaision

Post by walazono » Dec 01, 2015 2:42 am

The backup destination would be a shared folder on a NAS device.

Thanks

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10539
Liked: 858 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Does the full backup seed need to be recreated occaision

Post by Dima P. » Dec 02, 2015 2:48 pm

Hi walazono,
Has there ever been a problem where the original full backup seed becomes corrupt causing any future volume restores to have a problem?
Have not seen any issues related to backup file corruption since VEB was released. Just in case something happens with the backup chain – the new full backup will be created during the next job run.
Should I move the backup set to an archive folder and erase the destination of the backups to occasionally to force a new full backup to be created?
The default backup mode is forever incremental so no periodic full backups are supported. However, you can use a standalone full backup (not affected by retention settings) or change the backup destination in backup job settings if you want to start a new backup chain from scratch.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], Michael R and 20 guests