Feature Request - Bandwidth

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Feature Request - Bandwidth

Veeam Logoby lowlander » Sun Feb 15, 2015 12:42 pm

Hi,

Is bandwidth throttling planned to be implemented ?
lowlander
Service Provider
 
Posts: 267
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am

Re: Feature Request - Bandwidth

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Feb 16, 2015 3:46 pm

No plans for v1. I’ve seen this request several times, so it’s going to be discussed for sure. Thank you for the heads up!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

[MERGED] Request : Bandwidth throttling

Veeam Logoby JuA » Wed Apr 08, 2015 1:06 pm

Hi,

Veeam Endpoint backup is very effective... and while the backup job is running 100% of the bandwidth is used.

Some applications (For me now, anything in citrix) are very impacted by this.

Is there a plan to implement some kind of bandwidth throttling ?

Regards,

Julien
JuA
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:25 pm
Full Name: Julien A

Re: Request : Bandwidth throttling

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Apr 08, 2015 1:10 pm

Hello Julien,
Are you backing up to NAS or there is a chance you are going to use Veeam backup repository as a target?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request - Bandwidth

Veeam Logoby JuA » Wed Apr 08, 2015 2:15 pm

I am just backing-up my laptop to a NAS, and today I tested backup to a B&R Backup Repository.

I tested the Backup Repository throttling. It works fine, but the limit is global, not by client.
JuA
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:25 pm
Full Name: Julien A

Re: Feature Request - Bandwidth

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Apr 08, 2015 3:53 pm

Julien,
Got it, thanks! It’s not going to be implemented in v1, however, we will keep this request in mind for next version improvements discussions.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request - Bandwidth

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Apr 08, 2015 5:36 pm

Julien AILHAUD wrote:I tested the Backup Repository throttling. It works fine, but the limit is global, not by client.

Can you please clarify this? Throttling rules are not global, you specify source (or range) and target for each rule, so if you want to throttle bandwidth you would need to set source IP addresses of Endpoints and use repository as a target.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Bandwidth

Veeam Logoby JuA » Fri Apr 17, 2015 12:00 pm

If I setup a Backup Repository with a limit of 8MB/s (nice to avoid put a 100% Load on my 100mbps ethernet link..) , it's cool if only one backup is running.

But when 4 laptop will backup on this backup Repository at the same time, they will have to share these 8MB/s. That's 2MB/s for each one...
JuA
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:25 pm
Full Name: Julien A

Re: Feature Request - Bandwidth

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Apr 17, 2015 1:45 pm

Yes, that's correct, there is a setting on a repository to throttle the ingest rate, however you can try to use this workaround:

1. Use global network throttling settings in the Veeam backup console
2. Define Endpoint IP range or individual IP addresses there as a source for throttling rules
3. Type in target repository IP address

I haven't tried that, but it do the trick, so I would appreciate if you could report back on your findings.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Bandwidth

Veeam Logoby PavelP » Tue May 24, 2016 7:10 am

I used this guide: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/hyp ... tling.html
and it works for me...
I pointed my local subnet as Source and Target Networks and set Throttle = 40Mbps.
Backup speed of my laptop really dropped from 10MB/s to 5MB/s.
Just one interesting point, on B&R Server side network utilization was not shaped, it sends data to repository 5MB/s and also receives data from repository with 2-3MB/s (I don't know what it reads from repo during backup?). So I have seen 10MB/s traffic on the B&R Server side during backup.
PavelP
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:41 am
Full Name: Pavel P

Re: Feature Request - Bandwidth

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed May 25, 2016 12:56 pm

PavelP wrote:Just one interesting point, on B&R Server side network utilization was not shaped, it sends data to repository 5MB/s and also receives data from repository with 2-3MB/s (I don't know what it reads from repo during backup?). So I have seen 10MB/s traffic on the B&R Server side during backup.

I think it might be some management traffic which is pretty common when you target backup job to a CIFS share.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Bandwidth

Veeam Logoby JuA » Wed Jul 13, 2016 2:52 pm

PavelP wrote:I used this guide: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/hyp ... tling.html
and it works for me...
I pointed my local subnet as Source and Target Networks and set Throttle = 40Mbps.
Backup speed of my laptop really dropped from 10MB/s to 5MB/s.
Just one interesting point, on B&R Server side network utilization was not shaped, it sends data to repository 5MB/s and also receives data from repository with 2-3MB/s (I don't know what it reads from repo during backup?). So I have seen 10MB/s traffic on the B&R Server side during backup.


Back on this subject.

+1 for this idea. Easy to implement, works great.

My setup : Limit to 75mbps. My laptop, connected on a 100mbps switch has enough remaining bandwidth to work smoothly on Citrix, SSH and Web application.
JuA
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:25 pm
Full Name: Julien A

Re: Feature Request - Bandwidth

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Jul 13, 2016 4:40 pm

Thanks for the heads-up. By the way, you may notice some incoming traffic from VBR repo to VEB. It’s usually related to merger process where all the digests from existing backups should be transferred to VEB to perform transform operations.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests