Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby cbaxter » Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:32 pm

I know this could be something hard to program. Essentially, don't send a backup to a network drive if your connection to said drive is over a VPN. Many people travel to odd places or tether through their phone data plan to get access to information back at the office. It would be great to have a toggle to not push extra data while this type of connection is alive.

Should be along the lines of checking for (Interface.OperationalStatus == OperationalStatus.Up) && (Interface.NetworkInterfaceType == NetworkInterfaceType.Ppp) (as seen here
cbaxter
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:19 pm
Full Name: chip baxter

Re: Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:49 pm

Hi Chip,

Are you basically referring to metered connection that should forbid backup jobs?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19770
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby Homes32 » Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:29 pm

I can see this being the most flexible if left up to a pre-backup script.
Homes32
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 6:35 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Holmgren

Re: Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:54 pm

And meanwhile you can do that manually by disabling the scheduled backup jobs option in the control panel.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6497
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby cffit » Fri Dec 19, 2014 6:58 pm 1 person likes this post

I was about to post this same request. I'm working from home today over VPN on a DSL line. My backup that takes minutes to do in the office is going to take hours to do from home. I think rather than focus on it being over VPN though if there was a way to detect slower connections and then either not run, or prompt the user and say "You are on a slow connection right now. Do you want VEEAM to run backup or skip this time?". As stated above too, if someone is using their mobile data plan, this will eat up a lot of data for them.
cffit
Expert
 
Posts: 338
Liked: 33 times
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:36 pm
Full Name: Christensen Farms

Re: Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby cbaxter » Sun Dec 21, 2014 10:51 pm 1 person likes this post

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hi Chip,

Are you basically referring to metered connection that should forbid backup jobs?

Thanks!

Well, metered connections is just one example. As others have stated, you could be remote somewhere with a slow connection that could be easily saturated, in a foreign country where intercepting the data could be a great concern, etc.
cbaxter
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:19 pm
Full Name: chip baxter

Re: Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:27 am

Hi Chip, thank for clarification. Detecting a VPN connection should be easy, just trying to find out other situations where backup job should be postponed for some time.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19770
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby cffit » Mon Dec 22, 2014 6:53 pm

My vote is the speed of the connection would be the most important factor. Basically if the connection between the computer and the VEEAM server is less than a certain amount. I think this should only run when on the local LAN personally unless you are backing up a very small amount of data. This would seem to be best set as an option that can be disabled for cases where people do want it to work over slow connections.
cffit
Expert
 
Posts: 338
Liked: 33 times
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:36 pm
Full Name: Christensen Farms

[MERGED] feature request - choose of wired connection

Veeam Logoby wvkreg » Wed Dec 24, 2014 7:11 am

I would like an option to be only be able to backup when connected through a wired (aka fast) connection.
Wireless is too slow for large backups. Hope this is possible
wvkreg
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:53 pm
Full Name: Wim van Kregten

Re: Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby m.novelli » Mon Jun 08, 2015 2:39 pm

I suggest a check box similar to "backup only when computer is in the same subnet of the server", so we can avoid backup over VPN and backup over MPLS (when a notebook is in a different site than the server)

Cheers

Marco
m.novelli
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 303
Liked: 36 times
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:48 pm
Location: Asti - Italy
Full Name: Marco Novelli

Re: Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:52 pm

Marco,
I can remember I’ve discussed somewhere the possibility of adding VPN to the metered connections via native Windows tools and letting the ‘Disable the backup over metered connection’ Endpoint option handle the rest.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6497
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby m.novelli » Mon Jun 08, 2015 6:46 pm

Dima P. wrote:Marco,
I can remember I’ve discussed somewhere the possibility of adding VPN to the metered connections via native Windows tools and letting the ‘Disable the backup over metered connection’ Endpoint option handle the rest.


Thanks

IMHO the main issue with metered connection is that is only a feature of Windows 8 and above, so the huge Windows 7 base is left alone.
Plus, if I well understand metered connection features, is not feasible when a notebook move to a branch office connected via MPLS to the main office

Marco
m.novelli
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 303
Liked: 36 times
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:48 pm
Location: Asti - Italy
Full Name: Marco Novelli

Re: Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:05 pm 1 person likes this post

Valid point. Thanks Marco!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6497
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby TroyResources » Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:55 pm 1 person likes this post

Interesting points brought up here. With nomad users at various geo locations our offices are all connected via vpn tunnels and we leverage Silverpeak. Given the endpoint client could see remote repositories I'd only now considered how would I ensure that a user from one country plugging in at a remote site does not have backup kick in, mhh this is food for thought since detecting lan connection etc would not be a workable option in our scenario. That brings it down to defining what is my base or local office IP. Goid post. Got me thinking.
TroyResources
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 34
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 7:44 am
Full Name: TroyResourcesLimited

Re: Feature Request: Don't backup over VPN

Veeam Logoby TommyB » Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:29 am

Recently I ran into this issue as well - our main office is in Germany and one of our employees was working in Sweden via VPN when Endpoint Backup kicked in and started a backup cycle, completely saturating our 8 Mbit connection for hours.

I think Endpoint Backup should measure the connection speed and block backups if there is not at least x Mbit bandwidth - and "x" should be configurable.
TommyB
Expert
 
Posts: 115
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 9:46 am
Location: Germany.Europe.Terra.Sol.Milkyway.Localgroup.Virgo
Full Name: Thomas Braun

Next

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests