I just came across this situation in the backup mode "File Level Backup" and its hybrid mode when selecting files in the next step:
1) If I select a single folder of an expanded volume, the volume will get the info "file level backup" added.
2) If I select a complete volume, the info "volume level backup" will show up.
Now if I then expand this volume and uncheck one of its folders, it still shows "volume level backup". Is this intended - to be able to exclude files from a volume level backup? It's not a bug that it does not automatically switches to the "file level backup"?
The user guide didn't really straighten this out for the backup here I think (on page 11 or here
it only mentions the possibily of selecting individual files from a volume backup when recovering
, but not for the backup process).
If it is not a bug: Then could someone please clarify for this backup mode, what's exactly the benefit of doing an explicit-and-only file level backup (see 1)) instead of a volume backup plus selecting the needed files only (see 2)), when the file-level recovery later on is even capable of restoring single files/folders from a volume level backup?
This may be a beginner question, but the result (possibility of restoring individual items) looks the same for me.
Thank you very much