Error: root element is missing

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Error: root element is missing

Veeam Logoby JMB_74 » Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:39 am

Hi,

PC under Windows 7 Pro x64, VeeamEndPoint V1.1.2.119.
Since 2 days now, the backup doesn't work anymore, I receive mail notification "error: root element is missing".
The backup is stored on a NAS defined as backup repository in our Veeam BR server.
All others some PC's where VeeamEndPoint is installed on, the backup work fine.

Thank's.
Regards.
Fred.
JMB_74
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:56 pm

Re: Root element is missing

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:48 am

Hi,

Do all other machine use the same VBR NAS repository for their jobs?

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3017
Liked: 245 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Root element is missing

Veeam Logoby JMB_74 » Mon Nov 23, 2015 11:01 am

Yes
JMB_74
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:56 pm

Re: Root element is missing

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Nov 23, 2015 11:09 am

Then I suggest you to open a case with support team so they can take a closer look at your environment - it seems to be a VBR related issue so your topic has been merged. Don't forget to post your case ID here.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3017
Liked: 245 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Root element is missing

Veeam Logoby JMB_74 » Mon Nov 23, 2015 1:23 pm

Veeam Support - Case # 01144370
JMB_74
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:56 pm

[RESOLVED]Re: Root element is missing

Veeam Logoby JMB_74 » Tue Nov 24, 2015 1:03 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi,

After deleting the backup from disk (from the Veeam BR console), the backup task works well.
Fred.

Here it is the support answer:

1. From the Veeam Backup & Replication console, locate the backup files from the Backup & Replication view > disk. Then right click the EP restore points and click remove from disk.
2. Point the Endpoint backup job to a new location or a new repository. This will create a new chain on this new repo.
3. Clear out the Veeam Endpoint Backup database from which the job will need to be reconfigured and the backups will create a new chain and new vbm file. This can be done by the following:

1. Open up RegEdit
2. Look for HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Endpoint
3. Create new DWORD value called ReCreateDatabase and assign to it 1 (decimal)
4. Start Endpoint service manually or just reboot your pc.
5. If Endpoint started successfully, delete created key.
JMB_74
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:56 pm


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 16 guests